LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Guide: Power & Energy

Power and Energy Systems

The generation, transmission, distribution, management, quality and protection of electricity are all important aspects of the study of power systems. Renewable energy sources and energy storage systems are also vital to the future of power systems engineering. Taking full advantage of renewable energy resources requires innovations in producing, storing and delivering electricity which makes the technical expertise of electrical engineering professionals a vital resource to organizations striving to achieve environmentally friendly practices.

We have gathered some resources below to assist your power and energy systems coursework and research.

Library Resources

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). A comprehensive database containing technical literature on the design, analysis, operation, planning, and economics of electric generation, transmission, and distribution systems for general industrial, commercial, public, and domestic consumption, including the interaction with multi-energy carriers, and more. Coverage: 1864 - current
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Compendex (COMPuterized ENgineering inDEX) content is sourced from thousands of publishers around the world, including major engineering and computing societies such as IEEE, ACM, ASME, and SAE. Coverage: 1996 - current
Energy Citation Database This link opens in a new window
Open Access database of over 2.3 million science research citations and documents from the United States Department of Energy, including topics on power systems & distribution, renewable energy, solid-state batteries and more. Some articles are peer-reviewed, some are technical reports and case studies developed by scientists to report on projects and data in the field. Publication dates: 1943 - current
ElectricalEngineeringNetBASE This link opens in a new window
This database of textbooks, handbooks and reference books provides basic to advanced overviews and definitions covering the various subtopics of power systems, such as power electronics, power systems analysis, electric machines, power systems protection, power system transients, and more.

Web Resources

UML Center For Energy Innovation
For more than 40 years, UMass Lowell has been a leader in wind, solar and nuclear energy – as well as energy storage and next-generation fuel systems.The UML Center for Energy Innovation includes 12 primary research thrust areas pertaining to the energy industry, with research looking to a future of sustainable energy sources and systems.
IEEE Power & Energy Society
The IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) sets the standard for engagement, education, and development as the premier provider of scientific and engineering information on electric power and energy.
Electrical4u
Electrical4U is dedicated to the teaching and sharing of all things related to electrical and electronics engineering. The site contains a dedicated drop down menu on Power Systems.
Hackaday
Hackaday is a hardware hacking website. It was launched as a web magazine in 2004. Since 2014, Hackaday has also hosted a community database of open source hardware designs. Hackaday.io is the world's largest collaborative hardware development community.