Skip to Main Content

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals


The Sustainable Development Goals are 17 global goals set by the United Nations General Assembly in 2015. They are part of Resolution 70/1 of the United Nations General Assembly: "Transforming our World: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development". The UN's Sustainable Development Goals are the blueprint to achieve a better future for all. They address the global challenges we face, including those related to poverty, inequality, climate, environmental degradation, prosperity, and peace and justice. 

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were born at the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development in Rio de Janeiro in 2012. The objective was to produce a set of universal goals that meet the urgent environmental, political and economic challenges facing our world.

The SDGs replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which started a global effort in 2000 to tackle the indignity of poverty. 

The Goals

1: End poverty in all its forms
2: Zero Hunger
3: Health
4: Education
5: Gender equality and women’s empowerment
6: Water and Sanitation
7: Energy
8: Economic Growth
9: Infrastructure, industrialization
10: Inequality
11: Cities
12: Sustainable consumption and production
13: Climate Change
14: Oceans
15: Biodiversity, forests, desertification
16: Peace, justice and strong institutions
17: Partnerships

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Progress on the Goals

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here