The Center for Lowell History

Walter Hayes Collection, The Allen House

The following images are from the Walter E. Hayes Album.  During the early 1900s, Walter Hayes was the chauffeur and groundskeeper of Governor Charles Herbert Allen’s residence “The Terraces” on Rolfe Street [now: University of Massachusetts Lowell, South Campus]. 

 

Charles Herbert Allen 1848-1934

Born in Lowell, Massachusetts, April 15, 1848, he attended public schools, graduated from Lowell High School and Amherst College, Massachusetts. He engaged in the manufacture of wooden boxes and in the lumber business with his father; Otis Allen and Son. He died at his Rolfe Street Residence, Lowell, Massachusetts, April 20, 1934 and is buried in Lowell Cemetery.

Allen’s political career began with the Lowell School Committee, where he was instrumental in starting the Lowell Evening Schools; in 1884, he received the title “Colonel,” when Governor George Dexter Robinson appointed him to his personal staff. Allen's large circle of friends always used this designation when addressing him; elected as a Republican to the Forty-ninth and Fiftieth Congresses (March 4, 1885-March 3, 1889); declined to be a candidate for re-nomination in 1888. Allen was nominated for governor by the Republicans in 1890 but was defeated by William E. Russell. He also served as Massachusetts Prison Commissioner from 1897 to 1898.

In 1898, President William McKinley named Allen Assistant Secretary of the Navy when Theodore Roosevelt resigned the post to enter the Spanish American War. Allen held this position from 1898 to 1900. Selected as a Trustee of Amherst College and honored with an LL.D. degree in 1900. In 1899, at the end of the war President McKinley appointed Allen as the first civil governor of Puerto Rico. Allen retired from this post in 1902 with the island government out of debt and with over one million dollars in its treasury.

Upon his return home to Lowell, he became financially interested in banking and other enterprises and served on the board of directors for several banks and businesses in Lowell and New York. Allen served as vice president of the Morton Trust Company and of the Guaranty Trust Company of New York and as president of the American Sugar Refining Company.

 

Pictures

Governor Charles Allen                                                     Governor Charles Allen

Governor Charles Allen                                                         Governor Charles Allen
A4881 P01-2a                                                                     A4881 P01-1

 

Governor Charles Allen                            Governor Charles and Harriet Allen and Family

Governor Charles Allen                          Governor Charles and Harriet Allen and Family        
A4881 P01-3
                                                                   A4881 P02-1

 

Governor Charles Allen's carriage

Governor Charles Allen's carriage
A4881 P02-2

Governor Charles Allen                                                    Governor Allen Residence

Governor Charles Allen                                                Governor Allen Resident, A4881 P06-1
A4881 P03-1

Governor Charles and Harriet Allen
Governor Charles Allen
Governor Charles and Harriet Allen 
A4881 P03-2
 Governor Charles Allen 
A4881 P03-3
 
 
Governor Allen Ship
Governor Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Ship 
A4881 P03-4
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P04-1
 
 
Governor Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P04-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P04-3
   
Governor Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P05-1
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P05-2
   
Governor Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P06-1
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P06-2
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P06-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P06-4
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P06-5
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P07-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P07-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P07-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P08-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P08-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P08-3
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P08-4
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P09-1
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P09-2
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P09-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P10-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P10-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P10-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P11-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P11-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P11-3
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P12-1
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P12-2
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P13-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P13-2
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P13-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P14-1
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P14-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P14-3
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P15-1
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P15-2
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P15-3

 

 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P16-1
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P16-2
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P16-3
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P17-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P17-2
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P17-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P18-1
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P18-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P18-3
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P19-1
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P19-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P19-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P20-1
 Governor Allen House  
A4881 P20-2
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P20-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P21-1
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P21-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P21-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P22-1
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P22-2
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P22-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P23-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P23-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P23-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P24-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P24-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P24-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P25-1
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P25-2
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P25-3
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P26-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P26-2
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P26-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P27-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P27-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P27-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P27-4
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P27-5
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P28-1
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P28-2
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P28-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P29-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P29-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P29-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P30-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P30-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P30-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P31-1
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P31-2
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P32-1
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P32-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P32-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P33-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P34-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P34-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P34-3
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P35-1
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P35-2
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P35-3
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P36-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P36-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P36-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P37-1
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P37-2
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P37-3
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P37-4
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P37-5
 Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P38-1
   
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P38-2
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P38-3
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P38-4
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P39-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P39-2
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P39-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
Governor Allen Residence  
A4881 P39-4
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P40-1
 
 
The Allen Residence
The Allen Residence
 Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P40-2
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P40-3
 
 
The Allen Residence
Gravesite
Governor Allen Residence 
A4881 P40-4
Governor Allen Gravesite 
A4881 P41-1
Gravesite
Gravesite
Governor Allen Gravesite 
A4881 P41-2
 Governor Allen Gravesite 
A4881 P41-3
 
 
Gravesite
Gravesite
 Governor Allen Gravesite 
A4881 P42-1
 Governor Allen Gravesite 
A4881 P42-2
 
 
Governor Allen
Carriage
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P43-1
 Governor Allen Carriage 
A4881 P44-1
 
 
 Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P45-1
 Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P45-2
 
 
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P45-3
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P45-4
   
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P45-5
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P46-1
   
Allen House plans
Governor Allen Collection 
A4881 P46-2
Allen House Plans 
A4881 P47-1
Loading