LibGuides: U.S. History Research: History Research: Finding Articles

The UML Library provides access to many databases which include peer-reviewed articles from academic journals, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.

Begin by entering general search words in the UML Library Catalog. The results will show both what UML and what nearby institutions have available. You can refine your search by journal or article title, by subject, author or keyword.

Some titles are available in full-text and some are not. If UML does not own the article or book, the results page will include a "Request from Interlibrary Loan" button. Click this and you land on a loan request form prefilled with the article information. To make the request, you need an Interlibrary Loan account which is different from your library card account. Find instructions for creating an account here.

Using Article Quick Search

Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!

American History Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A definitive collection of academic sources collected from over 1,000 key journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Also includes CLIO Notes -- overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues.

Publication dates: 1964 - current
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Combines journals, news, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio.
Gale U.S. History in Context contains multifaceted information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. It merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
A key collection of historical periodicals published in the United States from 1691-1876, collected and preserved at the American Antiquarian Society, a major independent research library. A good source for primary sources in early U.S. history, with examples of early newspapers, magazines, and broadsides. Not a source for events past 1876.

Publication dates: 1691-1876.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts concerning world history from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1954 - current
Historical Abstracts includes 75-120 word abstracts to journal articles and citations to books and dissertations. Every year over 20,000 new entries are added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide. Over 600,000 entries currently available. The Web version is updated monthly.
CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues.
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2020.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Coverage: 1936 - current
Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth.
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text of key regulatory and statutory records with other materials indexed.
Coverage: 1789 - current
The basic subscription provides access to the full text of selected publications plus abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, committee hearings, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access over 300 journal titles covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) - current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A key collection of a curated high-quality selection of academic journals, with a deep historical backfile. Most journals include a full run, dating from the first issue, with some reaching back decades or even over 100 years. Most journals also do not include the most recent 1-5 years. Covers topics across the disciplines, from arts and humanities to social sciences, sciences, and engineering.

Dates included: 1800s to late 2010s.
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text of key regulatory and statutory records with other materials indexed.
Coverage: 1789 - current
The basic subscription provides access to the full text of selected publications plus abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, committee hearings, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

U.S. History Research

Library Home Page

More Help with Databases

Online e-Book Collections

Using Article Quick Search

American History Databases

Searching the Library's History Databases