LibGuides: Nutritional Science Research Guide: Databases

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine.

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!

Article Quick Search includes the majority of the library's databases, and is perfect for general searching. If you need articles on a narrow topic, you can use individual databases, listed below.

Databases for Nutritional Science

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 770 of the 3,000 journals indexed in nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material includes over 770 journals over the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - current
Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
Combines several health-related databases.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Cochrane Library is composed of a number of different databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) [which includes records previously published in the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews)], the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials, or CENTRAL), the Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), the Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Collects citations from academic journals covering health, social services, psychology, and related subjects. An targeted collection of information related specifically to academic and practical uses of social sciences, particularly in policy and human services.

Publication dates: 1987-Current
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports. Combines key databases like Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE with full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated organization, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

Publication dates: 1946 - current
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering gender, health, family, women and male studies.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Gender Studies Collection aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The most important new developments in safety science and human factors research.
Coverage: 1981 - current
Drawing on government reports as well as journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and other publications, Health and Safety Science Abstracts this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations. Topics cover aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, epidemics - and countless other phenomena having the potential to threaten the public, the environment, or the workplace itself - are reported here.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, and over 700 health videos.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains content from journals, pamphlets, reference books, and health and fitness magazines.
Coverage: 1980 - current
IngentaConnect Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Partial full text to journals covering multiple disciplines.
Coverage: varies (mostly from 2001) - current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A key collection of a curated high-quality selection of academic journals, with a deep historical backfile. Most journals include a full run, dating from the first issue, with some reaching back decades or even over 100 years. Most journals also do not include the most recent 1-5 years. Covers topics across the disciplines, from arts and humanities to social sciences, sciences, and engineering.

Dates included: 1800s to late 2010s.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Complete digitized content of over 70 biomedical books.
Coverage: most published from 1999 - current
The NCBI Bookshelf is a growing collection of freely accessible online biomedical books. Titles cover aspects of molecular biology, biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, research methods, and virology. The book content can be searched directly or accessed through links within PubMed (MedLine)
Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 600 peer-reviewed full-text journals.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Nursing and Allied Health Collection contains over 1,100 full-text publications nearly all of which are health and medicine journals and magazines with a strong emphasis on articles cited in CINAHL. Also included areover 200 reports plus pamphlets, newsletters, and videos.
Ovid Journals (full text content) This link opens in a new window
Access 66 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most 1993 - current
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Access hundreds of journals primarily covering areas of the sciences and health.
Coverage: mostly 1997 - current
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current

Nutritional Science Research Guide

Library Home Page

Try Google Scholar

Databases for Nutritional Science