Skip to main content

Help with EconLit

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic database.

The UML Library subscribes to Econlit through the vendor Ebscohost, so when you go to the database, the landing page looks exactly like the other database landing pages which are subscribed through Ebscohost. Don't be confused when you get there, you are in Econlit!

EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including

•capital markets 
•country studies
•econometrics
•economic forecasting
•environmental economics
•government regulations
•labor economics
•monetary theory
•urban economics.

EconLit uses the JEL classification system which  was developed for use in the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), and is a standard method of classifying scholarly literature in the field of economics. The system is used to classify articles, dissertations, books, book reviews, and working papers in EconLit and in many other applications. 

EconLit uses a controlled vocabulary of keywords to index six types of records:
•journal articles
•books
•collective volume articles
•dissertations
•working papers
•full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.

(A controlled vocabulary is a list of standardized subject headings used by catalogers and database indexers to describe what an article or book is about.) These sources bring the total records available in the database to more than 1.2 million.