Environmental Scan: Why, When, How

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan source of data and analysis, and takes no advocacy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Claritas helps companies identify people who become their best customers — based on behavior, beliefs, and their readiness to buy.

Explore what the World is searching.

Most of these datasets are accessible by subscription only, however, they have made a limited amount of recent data available. These data are for internal research purposes only and not for redistribution.You need to make an account and log in to access this data.

All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

The Census Bureau provides poverty data from several household surveys and programs. Here you can find poverty estimates, learn about these surveys and programs, and get guidance on how to choose the right estimate for your needs.

American Community Survey for the 2020 Census will be released Sept. 23, 2021

from Michigan State Broad College of Business, Global Edge is a comprehensive business research tool, including Global Insights, Reference Desk and Tools and Data.

County Business Patterns is a division of the U.S. Census Bureau and the Department of Commerce. You need an NAICS code to find information. You can narrow your search by year, industry (NAICS code), state and region.

The American Enterprise Institute is a community of scholars and supporters committed to expanding liberty, increasing individual opportunity, and strengthening free enterprise. AEI pursues these unchanging ideals through independent thinking, open debate, reasoned argument, facts, and the highest standards of research and exposition. Without regard for politics or prevailing fashion, we dedicate our work to a more prosperous, safer, and more democratic nation and world.

American City Business Journals (ACBJ) is the largest publisher of metropolitan business newsweeklies in the United States, with 43 business publications across the country reaching more than 3.6 million readers each week. We also offer specialty publications for sports fans, sports business readers and classic car enthusiasts.

US Securities and Exchange Commission - Commissioned to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. Information on SEC filings and for international, municipal markets and small business.

This includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records.
This directory also includes the archives of professional associations as these collections document various industries and companies that may be of use to corporate archivists.

Powerful (free) search tool to look up NAICS and SIC codes!

Global B2B portal to find & contact products or services suppliers