Computer Science Textbooks: Library Subscription and Open Access

2016 by Ralph Morelli, Ralph Walde, Trinity College.
The third edition retains many of the features of the first two editions, including:
Early Introduction of Objects
Emphasis on Object Oriented Design (OOD)
Unified Modeling Language (UML) Diagrams
Self-study Exercises with Answers
Programming, Debugging, and Design Tips.
From the Java Library Sections
Object-Oriented Design Sections
End-of-Chapter Exercises
Companion Web Site, with Power Points and other Resources.

2020 by Chris Mayfield, James Madison University,
Allen Downey, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering.
a hands-on introduction to computer science and programming used by many universities and high schools around the world. Its conciseness, emphasis on vocabulary, and informal tone make it particularly appealing for readers with little or no experience. The book starts with the most basic programming concepts and gradually works its way to advanced object-oriented techniques.

2016 by Ron McFadyen, University of Winnipeg.
This book is Part I of a two-part set that introduces the Java programming language. The text assumes the student will be using the BlueJ development environment and provides some introductory BlueJ material.

2016 by Ron McFadyen, University of Winnipeg.
This book is Part I of a two-part set that introduces the Java programming language. The text assumes the student will be using the BlueJ development environment and provides some introductory BlueJ material. Our experience has been that BlueJ is easy to learn and provides a good programming environment for the beginner programmer.

2015 by David J. Eck, Hobart and William Smith Colleges.
Quite comprehensive and provides all foundational topics for beginners to learn the Java programming language. In addition, it offers an overview of Java programming environments and includes chapters on graphical user interfaces and programming with multi-threading. The book is suitable for a typical first programming course in Java and some of the book’s material can also be used for a subsequent programming course.

2014 by Marijn Haverbeke.
provides a thorough walkthrough of the core aspects of JavaScript as a coding language. Divided into three sections, the book sets a goal for each section to give the reader an understanding of what material, skills, and examples will be featured in each section. This helps to cover as much ground within a select subject as possible without becoming repetitive and diverting off into topics that are interesting but may not be essential for learning core coding procedures.
Includes material on class notation, arrow functions, iterators, async functions, template strings, and block scope. Includes exercises.