LibGuides: Public Health Research: Databases

Health Databases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - current
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology.
Coverage: 1887 to present
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 770 of the 3,000 journals indexed in nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material includes over 770 journals over the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
Combines several health-related databases.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Cochrane Library is composed of a number of different databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) [which includes records previously published in the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews)], the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials, or CENTRAL), the Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), the Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 180 international journals covering sociology and social work.
Coverage: 1986 - current
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Collects citations from academic journals covering health, social services, psychology, and related subjects. An targeted collection of information related specifically to academic and practical uses of social sciences, particularly in policy and human services.

Publication dates: 1987-Current
Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 600 peer-reviewed full-text journals.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Nursing and Allied Health Collection contains over 1,100 full-text publications nearly all of which are health and medicine journals and magazines with a strong emphasis on articles cited in CINAHL. Also included areover 200 reports plus pamphlets, newsletters, and videos.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, and over 700 health videos.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains content from journals, pamphlets, reference books, and health and fitness magazines.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Ovid Journals (full text content) This link opens in a new window
Access 66 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most 1993 - current
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar limits your search to .edu, .gov and .org sources and searches many of the UML Libraries' subscription databases. It can also you how many scholars have cited an article (a measure of how much that article has made an impact), and provide links to related articles.

Remember to use quotes to keep words together when researching your topics. The word and may be substituted for the "+" sign.