Lydon Circulation Desk: 978-934-3208
O'Leary Circulation Desk: 978-934-4585
Lydon Library Access Services Manager/Librarian
Lydon Library Access Services Associate
O'Leary Library Access Services Coordinator
|Head of Access and Technical Services
Ellen MJ Keane
Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by the Access Services Department of the UMass Lowell Libraries. When material is not available in the UMass Lowell Libraries or in our full text databases, our faculty, staff and students may request it from another library. To find books from other libraries, simply search the catalog. You will be simultaneously searching UMass Lowell material, the collections of our partner libraries in the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), as well as libraries across the country. Results are prioritized by availability so the items that can be in your hand most quickly are listed first. Material that you can borrow immediately from the UMass Lowell Libraries will appear at the top of the list with location and call number or a link for an ebook. Items in BLC libraries will appear after our own material. Materials in other libraries in Massachusetts are listed next, followed by libraries across the country and beyond.
**Please be aware that as we return to regular service, some Interlibrary Loan requests may take longer than usual to be fulfilled.
When you know the material you want
If you know the item you want to request, you may use the ILLiad request form. Simply log into your ILLiad account, select the type of item you are requesting (article, book, book chapter, media, conference paper, patent, or thesis) and fill in the appropriate information and click "submit request."
From the catalog
Use our catalog to discover books and media items in our libraries and beyond. When you find an item at another library that you would like to borrow, scroll down to find the blue "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button on the right. Click this to open ILLiad. You will be asked to log on (or register if you are a first time user). Once you have logged into your account, you will see the request form already filled out. Check it to be sure it is the item you want and click "submit request."
From the databases
Our databases will help you discover articles and books. Much of the material you will find is available in full text to you as a UMass Lowell student, staff or faculty member. For those items that are not available immediately, you can request we obtain a copy for you. When you find an item that is not available in that database, click on the "Full Text Finder" link. This will show you if we have the item in full text in another database. If the Full Text Finder reveals that is not available in full text or in print, click "Interlibrary Loan Article/Chapter Request" or "Interlibrary Loan Book Request" to open ILLiad. You will be asked to log on (or register if you are a first time user). Once you have logged into your account, you will see the request form already filled out. Check it to be sure it is the item you want and click "submit request."
Please note- if you are requesting an article or book chapter from a database, please check the year in the ILLiad form. If it is longer than 4 characters, please change it. This will speed the processing of your request.
The UMass Lowell Libraries have developed these policies to ensure excellent service and fairness to all patrons.
Log into your ILLiad account to check the status of your requests.
How will I know when my ILL request is in?
You will be notified by e-mail when material is ready for pick up at your home library. Most articles will be delivered electronically, but occasionally some may require pick up. Physical materials such as books, CDs or DVDs require in person pick up at your home library.
It is not recommended that students request textbooks through Interlibrary Loan. Current textbooks are usually not available and the loan period is significantly shorter than a semester.