College Writing II

Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!

Our databases link you to journal articles via Full Text Finder. Clicking on the Full Text Finder link will often bring you to the full text of the article if the library owns it.
If we don't own an article, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan. 
Don't have an InterLibrary Loan account? Register! Find information about ILL here.

Library Databases

A database is a search engine. Instead of searching the web, it searches news, magazines, and peer review articles. The UML Library provides free access to a multitude of databases for students which have sources that include journal articles, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.

Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are read by experts in the field or discipline before they're published. "Peers" will extensively review the research for mistakes, suggest changes, and will sometimes make rejections. This process ensures that you find the highest quality in such journals.

From Wikipedia

"Peer review is the evaluation of work by one or more people of similar competence to the producers of the work (peers). It constitutes a form of self-regulation by qualified members of a profession within the relevant field. 

In academia, scholarly peer review is often used to determine an academic paper's suitability for publication."