LibGuides: Predatory Journals: Best Practices

- UML Library Catalog
  Search for books, journals, video, and non-print materials
- Article Quick Search
  Search electronic resources
- Publication Finder
  Search for a journal or ebook title in our electronic holdings
- A-Z Databases
  Browse our databases
- UML RAD
  Research, Archives, and Data repository
- Borrowing Policies
- Course Reserves
- About Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Learn more about borrowing materials from other libraries
- Login to Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Login to your ILL account
- Boston Library Consortium
- Commonwealth Collections
- Schedule a Research Appointment
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
- Subject Guides
- Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Submission
- Faculty
- New Students
- Online Students
- Visiting the Library
- Study Areas
- Hours
  Check libraries' open hours
- Printing
- O'Leary Library
- Lydon Library
- Center for Lowell History
- Mission & Vision
- Support the Library
- Contact Us
  Staff, phone, and email directory
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
DONATE

Best Practices for Journal Evaluation

Stick to the journals published by the major scholarly organizations in your field, e.g. American Chemical Society for chemistry, IEEE for electrical engineering, American Psychological Association for psychology, etc.

❖ Ask your colleagues for suggestions

❖ See if the journal is indexed in major library databases in your field

Article Quick Search
Search many UML library databases and journals all in one spot -- a good place to start a broad search, with a very large collection of content across disciplines, but does not include everything we own, and does not include some advanced search features that are in specialized subject databases.
Academic OneFile
A broad collection, across disciplines, with both scholarly and popular sources. Includes leading academic journals, regional and national newspapers, and some reference sources. A good starting point for any topic, and most useful for contemporary newspaper coverage.

Publication dates: 1980 - current (earlier for some titles)

Elsevier: Guide to Journal Evaluation