LibGuides: Computer Science Research Guide: Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks, encyclopedias, and other computer science reference books can be found by searching our UML databases Credo Reference, Knovel Technical Reference and O'Reilly eBooks (formerly Safari). We've gathered some computer science reference books below to provide some comprehensive resources for your coursework and research. We invite you to make use of our databases to find additional resources that meet your needs!

Depending on the title, you might need to log in with your UML credentials or create a different free account (Internet Archive, O'Reilly Media, etc.) before you can view eBook content.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology 4th Edition
Provides an extensive summary of how computer technology has developed over decades, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. Topics include Bioinformatics, Cyberterrorism, Programming Languages and more (2021).
Handbook of Data Structures and Applications
This book provides a comprehensive survey of data structures of various types and offers background information for readers with no formal training in computer science. In this latest edition, chapters have been added on Bloom Filters, Binary Decision Diagrams, Data Structures for Cheminformatics, and Data Structures for Big Data Stores (2018).
The Cyber Security Handbook
This book is a comprehensive cyber security manual which gives practical guidance on the individual activities identified in the IT Governance Cyber Resilience Framework (CRF) (2020).
Python Data Science Handbook : essential tools for working with data
A must-have reference for scientific computing in Python. Working scientists and data crunchers familiar with reading and writing Python code will find this comprehensive desk reference ideal for tackling day-to-day issues: manipulating, transforming, and cleaning data; visualizing different types of data; and using data to build statistical or machine learning models. Helps you build efficient and clean Python implementations of the most important and established machine learning algorithms (2022).
Bioinformatics with Python Cookbook
Discover modern, next-generation sequencing libraries from the powerful Python ecosystem to perform cutting-edge research and analyze large amounts of biological data. Become familiar with data processing libraries such as NumPy, pandas, arrow, and zarr in the context of bioinformatic analysis (2022).