LibGuides: Computer Science Research Guide: Cybersecurity

Cybersecurity

Designated as a National Security Agency (NSA)/Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Center of Excellence in Cyber Defense Research, UMass Lowell’s cyber-security education and research programs have helped meet the fast-growing demand for a highly trained cyber-security workforce. Gain the technical skills to build smarter information security systems and become a steward of social, economic and political change. Check out the new UML Cyber Range, a center for cybersecurity, education, research and workforce development.

We have gathered some resources below to assist your cybersecurity coursework and research.

Library Resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A key collection of citations and journal articles in computer science from the Association for Computing Machinery covering topics specific to cybersecurity such as cryptography, network security, anomaly detection and malware mitigation, cyber-physical systems, legal and societal aspects of security and privacy, and more. Publication dates: 1908 - current
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in computer science, electrical engineering, and electronics. A particularly useful resource when creating or researching computer programming to control hardware devices, such as robots and other forms of electronics. Coverage: 1864 - current
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content from over 700 journals.
Coverage: 1980 - current
This database contains nearly 5 million articles focused on all aspects of the criminal justice field. Publications include: American Criminal Law Review, Corrections Today, Criminal Justice, Criminal Justice Ethics, Forensic Examiner, Psychology Today, and much more!
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text across a wide range of Criminal Justice subjects.
Coverage: 1981-current
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.

The Cyber Security Handbook
This book is a comprehensive cyber security manual which gives practical guidance on the individual activities identified in the IT Governance Cyber Resilience Framework (CRF) (2020).

Web Resources

Department of Homeland Security - Cybersecurity Resources
DHS Science and Technology Directorate (S&T) published documents and other cybersecurity references and links can be found on this page.
NIST Computer Security Resource Center
The Computer Security Resource Center (CSRC) has information on many of NIST's cybersecurity and information security-related projects, publications, news and events. CSRC supports people and organizations in government, industry, and academia—both in the U.S. and internationally.
Software Engineering Institute (SEI)
A leader in Software Engineering and Cybersecurity. At the CERT Division, SEI studies and solves problems with widespread cybersecurity implications. The SEI Digital Library provides access to more than 5,000 documents from three decades of research into best practices in software engineering. These documents include technical reports, presentations, webinars, podcasts and other materials searchable by user-supplied keywords and organized by topic, publication type, publication year, and author.
Top Cybersecurity Resources for Students and Professionals
If you’re looking to start or grow a career in cybersecurity, Purdue Global provides a list of blogs, podcasts, professional organizations, and employment resources that can help you on your journey.