If you are searching for articles on a narrow topic or you know what journal your articles is published in, you can search databases individually. Here is a list of art-related databases, plus some support content for finding what you need.
Library Databases for Art, Architecture, Photography
Over 1.8 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences. Note: there have been problems accessing Artstor via the Firefox browser.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.8 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Full text articles and books covering antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 140 books along with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library. The Library holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world, and aims to provide access to images and information about its manuscripts to students, scholars, and the general public.
The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials. Because it includes such a wide range of material, it serves as a useful resource for those working in a variety of disciplines. In order to maximize the number of images, the Catalogue includes digital scans of existing slides as well newly-commissioned digital images. As a result, the image quality can vary.