Skip to Main Content

Learn More About The New O'Leary Library Spaces!

Our Website Has a New Look!

FIND & BORROW
- UML Library Catalog
  Search for books, journals, video, and non-print materials
- Article Quick Search
  Search electronic resources
- Publication Finder
  Search for a journal or ebook title in our electronic holdings
- A-Z Databases
  Browse our databases
- Borrowing Policies
- Course Reserves
- About Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Learn more about borrowing materials from other libraries
- Login to Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Login to your ILL account
- Boston Library Consortium
- Commonwealth Collections
RESEARCH HELP
- Schedule a Research Appointment
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
- Subject Guides
- Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Submission
- Faculty
- New Students
- Online Students
VISIT
- Visiting the Library
- Study Areas
- Hours
  Check libraries' open hours
- Printing
- O'Leary Library
- Lydon Library
- Center for Lowell History
ABOUT
- Mission & Vision
- Support the Library
- Contact Us
  Staff, phone, and email directory
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
DONATE

Center For Lowell History

Upton Bell Collection at UMass Lowell Libraries

Branch Inscription 1

Inscriptions

Click on the image for a larger view.

Links

Taylor Branch Biography
Taylor Branch Web Site
Taylor Branch on Twitter
Table of Contents for Parting the Waters
*Firefox users, please scroll down after clicking
Table of Contents for Pillar of Fire
* Firefox users, please scroll down after clicking
Table of Contents for At Canaan's Edge
*Firefox users, please scroll down after clicking.
Sample Text from At Canaan's Edge
Publisher provided text from At Canaan's Edge
Publisher's Weekly Review of Parting the Waters
Publisher's Weekly Review of At Canaan's Edge
Pillar of Fire on Goodreads
more... less...

Goodreads is the world's largest book recommendation site. It includes 65 million user contributed reviews.
Parting the Waters on Goodreads
more... less...

Goodreads is the world's largest book recommendation site. It includes 65 million user contributed reviews.
At Canaan's Edge on Goodreads
more... less...

Goodreads is the world's largest book recommendation site. It includes 65 million user contributed reviews.
Pillar of Fire on Booknotes
Video from Booknotes interview with Taylor Branch, airdate: April 12, 1998

Awards won by Taylor Branch

Biographers International Organization BIO Award, 2015

U.S. National Archives Records of Achievement Award, 2015

Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, 2015

Dayton Literary Peace Prize, Lifetime Achievement, 2008

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, Lifetime Achievement, 2007

J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize Finalist, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2007

Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2007

Search For Common Ground Book Award, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2006

Chigago Tribune Heartland Prize for Non-Fiction, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2006

National Book Award Finalist, History, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2006

National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist, Biography, At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68, 2006

American Bar Association Silver Gavel Award, Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65, 1999

Sidney Hillman Book Award, Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65, 1999

Imus Book Award, Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65, 1999

Notable Books Council of the Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association, Selection: Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65, 1999

National Humanities Medal, 1999

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship, 1991

Pulitzer Prize for History, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1988

National Book Critics Circle Award, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1988

Los Angeles Times Book Award, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1988

Melcher Book Award, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1988

English-Speaking Union Book Award, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1989

Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1989

National Book Award Finalist, Non-Fiction, Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63, 1989

John S. Guggenheim Fellowship, 1983