Skip to Main Content

Our Website Has a New Look!

UML Library is pleased to announce the launch of a new institutional repository, UMass Lowell RAD (Research, Archives, and Data)!

- UML Library Catalog
  Search for books, journals, video, and non-print materials
- Article Quick Search
  Search electronic resources
- Publication Finder
  Search for a journal or ebook title in our electronic holdings
- A-Z Databases
  Browse our databases
- UML RAD
  Research, Archives, and Data repository
- Borrowing Policies
- Course Reserves
- About Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Learn more about borrowing materials from other libraries
- Login to Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  Login to your ILL account
- Boston Library Consortium
- Commonwealth Collections
- Schedule a Research Appointment
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
- Subject Guides
- Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Submission
- Faculty
- New Students
- Online Students
- Visiting the Library
- Study Areas
- Hours
  Check libraries' open hours
- Printing
- O'Leary Library
- Lydon Library
- Center for Lowell History
- Mission & Vision
- Support the Library
- Contact Us
  Staff, phone, and email directory
- Ask A Librarian
  Questions? Ask us!
DONATE

Center For Lowell History

Upton Bell Collection at UMass Lowell Libraries

Author - Berlin

Ira Berlin was a historian, professor and author.... His book, Remembering Slavery: African Americans Talk About Their Personal Experiences of Slavery and Emancipation, is part of the Upton Bell Collection at UMass Lowell Libraries in O'Leary Library, 2nd Floor Special Collections and includes a personal inscription.

Book - Berlin

Remembering Slavery by Ira Berlin (Editor); Marc Favreau (Editor); Steven F. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: E 444 .R46 1998

ISBN: 9781565844254

Publication Date: 1998-10-01

Early in the 1930s interviewers from the Federal Writers' Project combed the American South in search of former slaves. The interviewers spoke with hundreds of elderly people about their experiences in slavery, and preserved the voices of some of them on primitive recording devices. The nearly-inaudible recordings were placed in the Library of Congress, unheard by the general public, but now, remastered with the aid of modern technology, they offer the only known opportunity to hear the voices of former slaves.

Inscription - Berlin

Click on the image for a larger view.

Awards - Berlin

Award for Scholarly Distinction, American Historical Association, 2015

W. E. B. Du Bois Medal, Harvard University, 2014

Albert J. Beveridge Award, American Historical Association, for Generations of Captivity: A History of African-American, 2003

Frederick Douglass Book Prize, The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, for Many Thousands Gone: The First Two Centuries of Slavery, 1999

Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize, Gettysburg College, for Free at Last: A Documentary History of Slavery, Freedom, and the Civil War (shared with Barbara Fields, Steven Miller, Joseph Reidy, Leslie Rowland) 1994

J. Franklin Jameson Prize, American Historical Association, for Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, Series II: The Black Military Experience (shared with Joseph Reidy, and Leslie Rowland) 1985

Links - Berlin

Ira Berlin Biography
Publisher's Weekly Review of Remembering Slavery
Remembering Slavery on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest book recommendation site. It includes 65 million user contributed reviews.
Video: Ira Berlin discusses "Slavery in America"
Original air date: May 8, 2000