Skip to main content

Help with Psycinfo

Psycinfo Support

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

About Psychinfo

PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed.

Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

Psychinfo is a master index and as such search is very detailedPsychinfo filters decides what belongs in the canon of psych literature.  

A separate database, PsychArticles, is full text subset of Psychinfo

Accessing Psycinfo

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Boolean Terms in Psycinfo

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Basic Searching

Sometimes a search can be overly general (results equal too many hits) or overly specific (results equal too few hits). To fine tune your search, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.

USING THE "AND" OPERATOR: If you have a search term that is too general, you can add several terms together using "AND". By stringing key terms together, you can further define your search and reduce the number of results. Note: Unless you define a specific search field, the result list will contain references where all your search terms are located in either the citation or full display.

• For example, type eating disorders AND women to find results that refer to both eating disorders and women.

USING THE "OR" OPERATOR: In order to broaden a search, you can link terms together by using the "OR" operator. By using "OR" to link your terms together you can find documents on many topics. Linked by this operator, your words are searched simultaneously and independently of each other.

• As an example, search eating disorders AND women OR self-esteem to find results that reference the terms "eating disorders" and "women", or the term "self-esteem".

USING THE "NOT" OPERATOR: In order to narrow a search, you can link words together by using the "NOT" operator. This operator will help you to filter out specific topics you do not wish included as part of your search.

Type: eating disorders OR women NOT self-esteem to find results that contain the terms "eating disorders" or "women" but not the term "self-esteem".
To further define your results, type: eating disorders AND women AND self-esteem to constrict the search to include all terms linked by the "AND" operator.