LibGuides: Environmental and Geoscience Textbooks: Library Subscription and Open Access: Finding Textbooks

UML Library Subscriptions

Knovel Technical Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection of over 200,000 ebooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection of over 120,000 ebooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers.

Library Home Page

Library Home Page
Search UML Library and other libraries.

Library Subscription Journals This link opens in a new window

OER Search Aggregators

➔ The Mason OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials.

➔ Another very good index is OASIS. Developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library and built by Bill Jones, Digital and System Resources librarian and Ben Rawlins, Library Director at SUNY Geneseo and colleagues working on their own time.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 87 different sources and contains 339,302 records.

Pressbooks Directory
Libretexts
OASIS
Merlot Learning Materials
a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.Center for Open Education, University of Minnesota.
OER Commons
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.

Not surprisingly, you can use Google to search for OER. Type in a subject term and find your way to Advanced Search. The location of Advanced Search tends to change; currently (Fall 2022) it can be found by clicking the Settings gear wheel icon and scrolling down.

Once there, scroll to Usage Rights near the bottom of the page, and choose the level of access you prefer.