2021 by Michelle Bachelor Robinson, Spelman College
Maria Jerskey, City University of New York, Toby Fulwiller, University of Vermont.
Aligns to the goals of many first-year writing courses. Focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning, and conventions of usage and style. Includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.
2019 by Terri Pantuso, Sarah LeMire, Kathy Anders, Texas A&M University.
Explicitly for use in freshman composition courses. The focus is on thesis-driven argumentation.
2016 by Robin Jeffrey, Klamath Community College.
Covers beginning writing to successfully compose college-level work; the basics of composition and revising, how to build a strong thesis, how to peer review a fellow student's work, and a checklist for revision. Moves on to an overview of academic writing. Comprehensive sections on sentence style and grammar, verbs, nouns and other basics of grammar. Sections on research and citation.
Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level academic writing and are now moving to more advanced engagement with text. Well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. Each of the nine chapters can be read separately, and each includes suggested exercises.
2019 by Sybil Priebe, Ronda Marman, Dana Anderson.
Provides an overview of the skills needed to be successful in a composition class. Covers the writing process, rhetorical patterns, and the genres students may encounter in a first-year composition class.
2019 by Rebecca Weaver et al, Georgia State University.
This text is a transformation of Writing for Success, a text adapted by The Saylor Foundation without attribution as requested by the work’s original creator.
2019 by Terri Pantuso, Sarah LeMire, Kathy Anders, Texas A&M University.
Explicitly for use in freshman composition courses. The focus is on thesis-driven argumentation.
2018 by Tanya Long Bennett, University of North Georgia.
Connects students with works and exercises and promotes constructive learning. Students learn writing styles appropriate for analyzing poetry, novels, dramas, and research writing. Includes visual aids throughout and emphasizes the importance of critical reading and analysis in producing a successful composition. Suitable for a first year writing class.
