Over 1.8 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences. Note: there have been problems accessing Artstor via the Firefox browser.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.8 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library. The Library holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world, and aims to provide access to images and information about its manuscripts to students, scholars, and the general public.
The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials. Because it includes such a wide range of material, it serves as a useful resource for those working in a variety of disciplines. In order to maximize the number of images, the Catalogue includes digital scans of existing slides as well newly-commissioned digital images. As a result, the image quality can vary.
Free full-text access to nearly 1,500,000 digital books available to download.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996, the Internet Archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages. The Archive also hosts the multilingual digitized text collection of the Open Content Alliance (OCA). The OCA is world-wide, non-profit, collaborative digital publishing venture that includes participation from UML and other Boston Library Consortium members.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Depicts the etymology of words in the English language.
The OED is the excepted authority on the evolution of the English language. It traces the usage of over half a million words, both present and past, from across the English-speaking world. It is currently being revised, with the preparation of an updated third edition. Draft material from the revision programme is published online, alongside unrevised entries from the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, and its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). Revised entries are added to the online Dictionary every quarter, replacing versions from the Second Edition and Additions Series.