LibGuides: OER, NOLO, and the University Library: Search for OERs

OER Search Aggregators

➔ The Mason OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials.

➔ Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) currently searches open content from over 80 different sources and contains over 300,000 records. It was developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library and built by Bill Jones, Digital and System Resources librarian and Ben Rawlins, Library Director at SUNY Geneseo.

Pressbooks Directory
Libretexts
OASIS
Merlot Learning Materials
a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.Center for Open Education, University of Minnesota.
OER Commons
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.

OER Textbook Sites

If you know of an open textbook or publisher in your subject area start with that. Then try the smaller curated collection below.

Openstax, (Rice University)
Open Textbook Library
created and maintained by the Open Textbook Network from the Unversity of Minnesota, helps colleges and universities advance the use of open textbooks and practices on their campuses.
B.C. Open Collection by BCcampus
Course Materials for educators.
Find free, open, and customizable materials by course or subject.
OAPEN
Online library and publication platform. Quality-controlled collection of open access books .
Milne Open Textbooks (SUNY)
A service to provide OER from State University of New York, these textbooks are free and open to all institutions. Browse available titles or the SUNY catalog to find learning materials suitable for your courses. You can link to our page, or you can upload the PDF or ebook in your LMS.
Open ALG: Affordable Learning Georgia

Expanded List of Sites for Textbook Options

Some content in these sites is aggregated in other sites.

Openstax
An educational, nonprofit initiative of Rice University
Libretext
Over 2500 openly licensed and curated books and counting. Search them all in the Commons.
Open Textbook Library
created and maintained by the Open Textbook Network from the Unversity of Minnesota, helps colleges and universities advance the use of open textbooks and practices on their campuses.
Noba
Psychology textbooks. Compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. Instructor manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test bank available for many modules.
American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative
The AIM seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
COERLL Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning.
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
CORE Econ
Free online textbooks and resources for a new way of teaching and learning economics.
CUNY Academic Works
CUNY Academic Works is a service of the CUNY Libraries dedicated to collecting and providing access to the research, scholarship and creative work of the City University of New York. In service to CUNY’s mission as a public university, content in Academic Works is freely available to all.
OpenIntro
A Non-profit with the mission to create free introductory math and statistics textbooks.
Open Textbook Store
A source for ready-to-adopt open textbooks. Algebra, Calculus, Statistics. Even the "Liberal Arts" offerings are math books.
VIVA Open Publishing: Open Educational Resources from the Virtual Library of Virginia
WAC Clearinghouse Books
Books on the topics of writing, writing pedagogy, and critical writing theory. More than 130 books are available on this site and additional books are in production. All books are available for free viewing and/or download. Many are also available in low-cost print editions.
Ximera
Open courses, free math. Plus computer languages.

Compendiums of Courses, Multimedia

Browse reusable learning objects.

Libretexts: Create and Adopt OER
MIT Open Courseware
“The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.”
Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering
Saylor Academy Courses
Free, online, self-paced courses.
Open Culture
Free cultural and Educational media. May offer text alternatives or ways to enrich a textbook-free course.
Open Yale Courses
Provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.
Stanford Engineering Everywhere
Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE) expands the Stanford experience to students and educators online and at no charge. A computer and an Internet connection are all you need. The SEE course portfolio includes one of Stanford's most popular sequences: the three-course Introduction to Computer Science, taken by the majority of Stanford’s undergraduates, as well as more advanced courses in artificial intelligence and electrical engineering.
Openverse
A library of free stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use.
OpenLearn
Free Learning from the Open University. Explore subjects and take courses.
UCI Open
From UC Irvine courses and resources.
Open Chemistry, from UCI Open
Part of UCI's offerings. provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials, anyone in the world can effectively sit alongside UCI Irvine students and view complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures delivered by top faculty members. UCI's goal is to provide resources not only for learners, but for instructors, as well. Any of our OpenChem materials are immediately available for use by institutions or individual professors teaching their own courses.
Open Course Library (Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges)