Introduction to Biomedical Engineering (Edited by John Enderle & Joseph Bronzino) is the main text for the course. All other e-books listed are supplemental resources.
The Biomedical Engineering Handbook
Known as the bible of biomedical engineering, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition, sets the standard against which all other references of this nature are measured. As such, it has served as a major resource for both skilled professionals and novices to biomedical engineering. Medical Devices and Systems, the second volume of the handbook, presents material from respected scientists with diverse backgrounds in biomedical sensors, medical instrumentation and devices, human performance engineering, rehabilitation engineering, and clinical engineering. More than three dozen specific topics are examined, including optical sensors, implantable cardiac pacemakers, electrosurgical devices, blood glucose monitoring, human-computer interaction design, orthopedic prosthetics, clinical engineering program indicators, and virtual instruments in health care. The material is presented in a systematic manner and has been updated to reflect the latest applications and research findings.
Medical Instruments and Devices by
Medical Instruments and Devices: Principles and Practicesoriginates from the medical instruments and devices section of The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition. Top experts in the field provide material that spans this wide field. The text examines how biopotential amplifiers help regulate the quality and content of measured signals. It includes instruments and devices that span a range of physiological systems and the physiological scale: molecular, cellular, organ, and system. The book chronicles the evolution of pacemakers and their system operation and discusses oscillometry, cardiac output measurement, and the direct and indirect methods of measuring cardiac output. The authors also expound on the mechanics and safety of defibrillators and cover implantable stimulators, respiration, and the structure and function of mechanical ventilators. In addition, this text covers in depth: Anesthesia Delivery Electrosurgical Units and Devices Biomedical Lasers Measuring Cellular Traction Forces Blood Glucose Monitoring Atomic Force Microscopy Parenteral Infusion Devices Clinical Laboratory: Separation and Spectral Methods Clinical Laboratory: Nonspectral Methods and Automation Noninvasive Optical Monitoring An offshoot from the definitive "bible" of biomedical engineering, Medical Instruments and Devices: Principles and Practices offers you state-of-the-art information on biomedical instruments and devices. This text serves practicing professionals working in the areas of medical devices and instrumentation as well as graduate students studying bioengineering, instrumentation, and medical devices, and it provides readers with a practical foundation and a wealth of resources from well-known experts in the field.
Biological and Medical Sensor Technologies by
Biological and Medical Sensor Technologiespresents contributions from top experts who explore the development and implementation of sensors for various applications used in medicine and biology. Edited by a pioneer in the area of advanced semiconductor materials, the book is divided into two sections. The first part covers sensors for biological applications. Topics include: Advanced sensing and communication in the biological world DNA-derivative architectures for long-wavelength bio-sensing Label-free silicon photonics Quartz crystal microbalance-based biosensors Lab-on-chip technologies for cell-sensing applications Enzyme biosensors Future directions for breath sensors Solid-state gas sensors for clinical diagnosis The second part of the book deals with sensors for medical applications. This section addresses: Bio-sensing and human behavior measurements Sweat rate wearable sensors Various aspects of medical imaging The future of medical imaging Spatial and spectral resolution aspects of semiconductor detectors in medical imaging CMOS SSPM detectors CdTe detectors and their applications to gamma-ray imaging Positron emission tomography (PET) Composed of contributions from some of the world's foremost experts in their respective fields, this book covers a wide range of subjects. It explores everything from sensors and communication systems found in nature to the latest advances in manmade sensors. The end result is a useful collection of stimulating insights into the many exciting applications of sensor technologies in everyday life.
Healthcare Sensor Networks by
Healthcare sensor networks (HSNs) now offer the possibility to continuously monitor human activity and physiological signals in a mobile environment. Such sensor networks may be able to reduce the strain on the present healthcare workforce by providing new autonomous monitoring services ranging from simple user-reminder systems to more advanced monitoring agents for preventive, diagnostic, and rehabilitative purposes. Potential services include reminding people to take their medication, providing early warning for the onset of heart attacks or epileptic seizures, and monitoring a child's physical activity in order to assess their growth and mental development. Healthcare Sensor Networks: Challenges Toward Practical Implementationdiscusses the fundamental concepts in designing and building such networks. It presents the latest developments in HSNs, explores applications of the technology, and provides insights into practical design and deployment challenges. Bringing together contributions from international experts in the field, the book highlights the key areas that require further research for HSNs to become a technological and commercially viable reality. The first part of the book concentrates on the engineering challenges, covering new biosensors, energy harvesting techniques, new wireless communication methods, and novel security approaches. Building from single sensing devices to networked sensing systems, the second part of the book looks at various health applications of HSNs. It addresses the human-centric requirements that should be considered in the design of HSN technologies--cost, portability, functionality, and user acceptance--and demonstrates how engineering compromises must be made in HSN solutions. A useful and timely resource for researchers, postgraduate students, and engineers looking for innovative solutions in healthcare, this book will also be of interest to medical and allied health personnel working in hospitals. It offers a practical reference on novel, cost-effective, and user-oriented sensing technologies and networks that are set to revolutionize the delivery of healthcare in the future.
Tissue Engineering and Artificial Organs by
Over the last century, medicine has come out of the "black bag" and emerged as one of the most dynamic and advanced fields of development in science and technology. Today, biomedical engineering plays a critical role in patient diagnosis, care, and rehabilitation. As such, the field encompasses a wide range of disciplines, from biology and physiology to material science and nanotechnology. Reflecting the enormous growth and change in biomedical engineering during the infancy of the 21st century, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook enters its third edition as a set of three carefully focused and conveniently organized books.Reviewing applications at the leading edge of modern biomedical engineering, Tissue Engineering and Artificial Organs explores transport phenomena, biomimetics systems, biotechnology, prostheses, artificial organs, and ethical issues. The book features approximately 90% new material in the tissue engineering section, integrates coverage of life sciences with a new section on molecular biology, and includes a new section on bionanotechnology. Prominent leaders from around the world share their expertise in their respective fields with many new and updated chapters.New technologies and methods spawned by biomedical engineering have the potential to improve the quality of life for everyone, and Tissue Engineering and Artificial Organs sheds light on the tools that will enable these advances.
Medical Imaging by
The book has two intentions. First, it assembles the latest research in the field of medical imaging technology in one place. Detailed descriptions of current state-of-the-art medical imaging systems (comprised of x-ray CT, MRI, ultrasound, and nuclear medicine) and data processing techniques are discussed. Information is provided that will give interested engineers and scientists a solid foundation from which to build with additional resources. Secondly, it exposes the reader to myriad applications that medical imaging technology has enabled.
The Image Processing Handbook, Sixth Edition by
Whether obtained by microscopes, space probes, or the human eye, the same basic tools can be applied to acquire, process, and analyze the data contained in images. Ideal for self study, The Image Processing Handbook, Sixth Edition, first published in 1992, raises the bar once again as the gold-standard reference on this subject. Using extensive new illustrations and diagrams, it offers a logically organized exploration of the important relationship between 2D images and the 3D structures they reveal. Provides Hundreds of Visual Examples in FULL COLOR The author focuses on helping readers visualize and compare processing and measurement operations and how they are typically combined in fields ranging from microscopy and astronomy to real-world scientific, industrial, and forensic applications. Presenting methods in the order in which they would be applied in a typical workflowOCofrom acquisition to interpretationOCothis book compares a wide range of algorithms used to: Improve the appearance, printing, and transmission of an imagePrepare images for measurement of the features and structures they revealIsolate objects and structures, and measure their size, shape, color, and positionCorrect defects and deal with limitations in imagesEnhance visual content and interpretation of details This handbook avoids dense mathematics, instead using new practical examples that better convey essential principles of image processing. This approach is more useful to develop readersOCO grasp of how and why to apply processing techniques and ultimately process the mathematical foundations behind them. Much more than just an arbitrary collection of algorithms, this is the rare book that goes beyond mere image improvement, presenting a wide range of powerful example images that illustrate techniques involved in color processing and enhancement. Applying his 50-year experience as a scientist, educator, and industrial consultant, John Russ offers the benefit of his image processing expertise for fields ranging from astronomy and biomedical research to food science and forensics. His valuable insights and guidance continue to make this handbook a must-have reference."
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals by
Over the last century,medicine has come out of the "black bag" and emerged as one of the most dynamic and advanced fields of development in science and technology. Today, biomedical engineering plays a critical role in patient diagnosis, care, and rehabilitation. As such, the field encompasses a wide range of disciplines, from biology and physiology to informatics and signal processing. Reflecting the enormous growth and change in biomedical engineering during the infancy of the 21st century, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook enters its third edition as a set of three carefully focused and conveniently organized books. The first installment, Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals provides a concise survey of the major areas that constitute modern biomedical engineering. Beginning with an overview of physiology and physiological modeling, simulation, and control, the book explores bioelectric phenomena, biomaterials, biomechanics, rehabilitation and human performance engineering, and ethical issues. Preeminent experts from around the world share their expertise with many new and updated chapters representing state-of-the-art technologies and practices. A new section on neuroengineering rounds out the coverage. With sharp focus and authoritative coverage, Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals is an ideal introduction for anyone new to the field, a convenient reference for seasoned professionals, and a valuable introductory textbook.
