LibGuides: Evidence Appraisal for Nurses: Step 2: Searching the Databases

Picking a Database

Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
Combines several health-related databases.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Cochrane Library is composed of a number of different databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) [which includes records previously published in the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews)], the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials, or CENTRAL), the Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), the Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 770 of the 3,000 journals indexed in nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material includes over 770 journals over the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - current

Ovid Journals (full text content) This link opens in a new window
Access 66 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most 1993 - current