LibGuides: Family Health for Nurses: Children's Health

Pre Search

Global Issues in Context: Maternal and Infant Mortality
Global Issues in Context looks at issues of international concern. You can get a great overview, access to reference sources, magazines, academic articles and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This database provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
PubMed
PubMed® provides access to over 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

American Academy of Pediatrics
The official Web site of the American Academy of Pediatrics—an organization of 60,000 pediatricians committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental, and social health and well-being for all infants, children, adolescents, and young adults.
Healthy Children
HealthyChildren.org offers health care information and guidance for parents and caregivers, along with interactive tools and personalized content. In addition to finding the most reliable pediatric health information available online, visitors to the new site can search for a local AAP member pediatrician.
Medline Plus: Children's Health
From the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
Children's Health Protection
USEPA's site on children's environmental health
Pediatric Environmental Health Toolkit
The Toolkit is a combination of easy-to-use reference guides for health providers and user friendly health education materials on preventing exposures to toxic chemicals and other substances that affect infant and child health.