This is the "Background Info" page of the "Social Welfare Policy Mignon Duffy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Welfare Policy Mignon Duffy   Tags: advocacy, homelessness, laws, poverty, social_policy, social_welfare, sociology  

UML & online resources for researching social welfare issues.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=1235 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background Info Print Page
  Search: 
 

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias  and handbooks are one of a few sources that give you an overiew of a topic. You can learn enough to choose a specific aspect of a broad topic. You can also pick up key terms as well as author names to search in our catalog and article databases.

  • Sage Knowledge
    Full text subject encyclopedias and handbooks. Be sure to limit your results to "Articles" and "Chapters" to go directly to the information.
  • Credoreference
    Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
 

Sample Encyclopedia Sources


Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. HV12.E497 2005 O'Leary Reference 1st floor and online. This is a unique reference work providing basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Click the title to go to the online version.

Encyclopedia of Homelessness. Alphabetically arranges entries for articles about homelessness in eight major U.S. cities and 30 cities and nations around the world. Covers causes of homelessness, housing, policy, health & lifestyle issues, and service systems are among the broad topics covered.

Handbook of Families & Poverty. Browse through the table of contents or search with specific terms or phrases.

Poverty and the Government in America. 170 entries on policies implemented to alleviate poverty—their historic contexts, rationales, and legacies. Also features separate essays on how poverty has been addressed at federal, state, local, and Native American tribal levels throughout U.S. history.

 

LET ME KNOW

Which page did you find most useful?








Other Background Sources

  • CQ Researcher
    Valuable because this resource give you the Pro and Con positions regarding many social issues.
  • Urban Institute
    The Urban Institute is a non-partisan think tank providing high-quality research on economic and social policy, addressing topics such as education, employment, crime, and governance.s
  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
    Another think-tank working on fiscal policy and public programs affecting low- to moderate-income people. The Center conducts research and analysis over proposed budget & tax policies and to ensure the needs of low-income families.
  • Lexis Nexis (News)
    Search hundreds of media including national and regional newspapers, magazines, wire services, and transcripts.
  • WBUR
    Local public radio station that includes coverage of timely policy issues.
 

Food For Thought

Billitteri, T. J. (2007, September 7). Domestic povertyCQ Researcher17, 721-744. Retrieved February 5, 2010, from CQ Researcher Online.

 

 

Triplett, W. (2004, June 18). Ending homelessnessCQ Researcher,14, 541-564. Retrieved February 5, 2010, from CQ Researcher Online.

 

 

 

 

Off Campus Access

From off campus

 

 






When you click on a database link for the first time, this dialog box appears.

  1. Type your student.uml.edu email address.
  2. Then your password for that email address.

for problems call: 978-934-help

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip