Skip to Main Content

Help with Political Science Complete

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

library homepage with red arrow pointing at databases tab

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

Political Science Complete provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms (7,366 preferred and 10,175 non-preferred terms), to provide subject searching guidance.

The video below demonstrates a search in Ebsco's Academic Search Complete database, but the techniques are the same for Political Science Complete.

Note

When you click the name of a database in the library's Databases list and it is from the vendor Ebsco, the landing page is the Advanced Search page. Start on the Basic Search page by clicking the tab.

basic search tab dialog box

 

A Basic Search in Ebsco Databases

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Creating an Advanced Search in Ebsco Databases

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here