Skip to Main Content

Help with Ovid Journals &Ovid Full Text

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

library homepage with red arrow pointing at databases tab

What is Ovid?

There are two types of Ovid access from the UML Library home page. One is Ovid Journals with full text and the other is Ovid Journals @Ovid. You can get full text articles from either, but the ones from Journals@Ovid will require an Interlibrary Loan request.

The Ovid Journals @Ovid is one of two primary ways to access MEDLINE (the other being PubMed). Ovid Journals@Ovid uses the National Library of Medicine controlled vocabulary thesaurus, otherwise known as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH. MeSH terms are used because they provide a consistent way to retrieve information despite possible variations in naming. Users have control over which subject headings are used, and search strategies may be saved for future use.

Basics of Ovid from Librarian Sara Marks

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Introduction to Ovid: Selecting a Search Mode

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Ovid Operators

OR retrieves any or all of the search terms [Example: heart attack OR myocardial infarction]
AND retrieves records with only both search terms [Example: blood pressure AND stroke]  
NOT excludes second term, only retrieves records for first [Example: health reform NOT health policy]
ADJ searches for words adjacent to each other and only separated by a single space [Example: blood pressure or bloodADJpressure]
ADJn searches for terms that are a specified number (n) spaces away from each other [Example: physician adj5 relationship]
FREQ specify a term's threshold of occurrence in the records retrieved.  The syntax for this is "x.fd./freq=n" where fd is the 2 letter field name, and n is the frequency. [Example: blood.kw./freq=5 ]

 

Support Videos from Ovid: Basics

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here