A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Coverage: 1936 - current
Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth.
This website was developed by students at Brown University working with Professor James N. Green in the course “Modern Latin America” and is hosted by Brown University Libraries.
Information about politics and governments throughout the Americas.
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a freely-accessible non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University. It's mission is to contribute to the study, promotion and strengthening of democracy in the hemisphere, through the collection, systematization, dissemination, and exchange of information, data, statistics, and institutions from a political perspective, comparative studies; and other resources relevant to the 35 countries of the region.
Using Article Quick Search
Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!
If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here
Find Ebooks
If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here
