Skip to Main Content

Help with MLA International Bibliography

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

library homepage with red arrow pointing at databases tab

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

About MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is focused on modern languages and literature, containing over 2.8 million records. 

In addition to the bibliography, the database includes:

  • the MLA Directory of Periodicals: a list of publication details of periodicals including submission requirements, and subscription information for thousands of journals in the MLA’s subject areas.
  • The MLA Bibliography Thesaurus: a searchable and browsable controlled vocabulary that enables users to identify terminology appearing in current scholarship and to create more precise searches.

Getting Started

Using the MLA International Bibliography begins with a search. The bibliography offers many search options, which can be selected and combined to tailor the results to the researcher’s specific needs. These options include:

literary authors and their works (e.g., “Achebe, Chinua”; “Things Fall Apart”)

subject terms, including people, characters, places, periods, movements, and subject matter (e.g., “Wordsworth, William,” “Lake District,” “1700-1899,” “Romanticism,” and “landscape”)

titles of articles, books, and other scholarly works indexed in the bibliography

academic authors and their works (e.g., “Butler, Judith”; “Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity”)

language of publication (e.g., “French language”)

date of publication (e.g., “2014,” “2005-2015”)

limit to peer-reviewed journal articles

 A searchable list of all the subject terms in the bibliography and their related terms can be found in the MLA Thesaurus, included with every subscription. 

What Is the MLA International Bibliography? from MLA International Bibliography on Vimeo.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here