Skip to Main Content

Help with MEDLINE

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

library homepage with red arrow pointing at databases tab

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM), bibliographic database containing more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed, a scientific literature database developed and maintained by the NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). 

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

 

 

 

 

The MEDLINE database is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and widely recognized as the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. Provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, and dentistry, and it also covers areas of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering that are related to health and biomedicine. The database contains more than 30 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and many other countries. It is updated daily.

Medline Search

(The UML advanced search page does NOT have the Suggest Subject Heading check box.)

MEDLINE Complete - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Note

When you click the name of a database in the library's Databases list and it is from the vendor Ebsco, the landing page is the Advanced Search page. Start on the Basic Search page by clicking the tab.

basic search tab dialog box