Nearly 2,000 classic works of French literature and non-fiction.
Coverage: Medieval - 20th century
Besides the Main ARTFL Database, resources include French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database. Eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth century texts are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century, medieval, and Renaissance texts. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.
Premier chemistry references, presenting facts, formulas, tables, and illustrations.
CHEMnetBASE offers the following resources. Each product is a separate entity and can only be searched on its own. Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) - combines the following titles into one searchable database: Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource), Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, now in its 87th Ed. - with the most heavily used tables updated and expanded.
Polymers: A Property Database - is fully searchable and offers the ability to produce tables customized to user preference.
Properties of Organic Compounds - contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
100 full-text reference resources covering most academic subject areas.
Credo Reference aggregates authoritative high-quality reference works for online delivery to libraries worldwide. UMass Lowell subscribes to 100 reference titles in Credo, with over 600 thousand entries, all fully integrated and intelligently cross-linked. Reference resources include Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and atlases. Subjects covered in particular are history, health, world politics and culture, social sciences, music, literature, biology, education, and religion.
View and preview over 7 million digitized books and download over one million.
The Google Book Search service enables users to search full text books that Google scans primarily from major academic and public libraries from around the world. Google Books also presents content from authors and publishers who participate in Google's Partner Program. For these books, the partners decide how much of the book is browsable -- anywhere from a few sample pages to the whole book. For books that enter Google Books through the Library Project, amount of access depends on the book's copyright status. Over a million books are public-domain works or other out-of-copyright material that is available to be downloaded in PDF format.
Multi-volume reference works covering education, literacy, and technology.
Coverage: Publication dates 2005 - 2006
IGI Global’s book and reference collection contains full-text articles and chapters covering research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the fields of distance education, literacy, multimedia technology, and computer interaction. Online access includes all content from the print edition, structured as a database of individual chapters with abstract and indexing records for enhanced search functionality and ease of use for printing or downloading.
Free full-text access to nearly 1,500,000 digital books available to download.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996, the Internet Archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages. The Archive also hosts the multilingual digitized text collection of the Open Content Alliance (OCA). The OCA is world-wide, non-profit, collaborative digital publishing venture that includes participation from UML and other Boston Library Consortium members.
Articles on chemical substances— their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of over 1,000 articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Monthly updates keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Complete digitized content of over 70 biomedical books.
Coverage: most published from 1999 - current
The NCBI Bookshelf is a growing collection of freely accessible online biomedical books. Titles cover aspects of molecular biology, biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, research methods, and virology. The book content can be searched directly or accessed through links within PubMed (MedLine)
At its heart, Open Library is a catalog. The project began in November 2007 and has collected well over 20 million catalog records from some of the biggest libraries in the world. Access is provided to 1.7 million scanned versions of books. The secondary goal is to get users as close to the actual document looked for as possible, whether that is a scanned version courtesy of the Internet Archive, or a link to Powell's where you can purchase your own copy.
This is the dynamic online version of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Written by leading figures in the field including many Nobel prize winners, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
Originally published in 1894 and later revised in 1923 and again as a "New" four-volume set in 1987, the Palgrave Dictionary of Economics has continuously drawn together eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools to produce an consistently valuable work of reference that has contained many individual classic essays of enduring importance. In 2008, Palgrave Macmillan published The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume. While some classic articles from the 1987 were retained, around 80% of the text was either entirely new or substantially rewritten to reflect the depth of change within the discipline between the editions. This new edition retains the tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists (including 25 Nobel Laureates in Economics) writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic resource that is updated on a quarterly basis.
From the landing page click, "Institution not listed?" (it isn't). Then either log in with your UMass Lowell email OR click "Already a User? Click Here." Recommend creating an account in this database and accessing the "Already a User? " option.