Combine search of Gale's literary resources: Scribner, Twayne, and much more.
An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows users to search across these resources through one interface: Literary Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors. LRC provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines. Entries in Scribners includes original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Over 1.8 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences. Note: there have been problems accessing Artstor via the Firefox browser.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.8 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Biographical information about current and historical people.
Biography in Context integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news.
Biographical and bibliographical information on U.S. and international authors.
Contemporary Authors contains biographical details on current writers, along with the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, as well as authors from around the world. In many cases, information provided by the authors themselves is used to create sketches. In instances where an author is deceased or direct responses to questionnaires and query letters are unavailable, details are drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors’ publishers.
Depicts the etymology of words in the English language.
The OED is the excepted authority on the evolution of the English language. It traces the usage of over half a million words, both present and past, from across the English-speaking world. It is currently being revised, with the preparation of an updated third edition. Draft material from the revision programme is published online, alongside unrevised entries from the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, and its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). Revised entries are added to the online Dictionary every quarter, replacing versions from the Second Edition and Additions Series.
Literary reference combining Twayne's U.S., English, and World Authors.
The Twayne Authors Series is a literary reference resource that combines Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors publications. Each of these individual titles provides literary criticism for approximately 200 authors, bringing the total number of authors covered in the Series to nearly 600. All titles feature comment elements, such as a chronology, a biography, a comprehensive critical analysis, and an annotated bibliography. The discussions of each author in the series are between 175-200 printed pages.