Skip to main content

Help with History Databases

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

About the Databases

America: History and Life is  an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing 1,700 journals from 1964 to present; this database is an bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Includes both English-language journal coverage and an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
 

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including

✦ world history 
✦ military history 
✦ women's history 
✦ history of education and more. 

This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955

Searching the Library's History Databases

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Creating an Advanced Search in Ebsco Databases

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Clio Notes

You will see a tab for Clio Notes in the upper left of the search page. These allow you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.

 On the main screen, is a list of major time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display essays and suggestions for further research. The linked subject terms provided allow you to search the entire America: History and Life database for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.