Encyclopedias are one of a few sources that give you an overiew of a topic. You can learn enough to choose a specific aspect of a broad topic. You can also pick up key terms as well as author names to search in our catalog and article databases.
Science in Context features authoritative information and detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Authoritative coverage of local, national and international news.
Coverage: September 1980 - current
Access to full-text coverage of the Boston Globe through detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition, items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the searchable index.
Provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. In addition to helping you search, News archive search can automatically create timelines which show selected results from relevant time periods.
Coverage of national and international finance as well as hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
The Wall St. Journal's comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.
Questions to think about: 1. What is the authority behind the information? 2. What is the purpose of the information? 3. How biased or neutral is the information? 4. Can the information be verified from other sources?