Skip to main content

Help with CQ Researcher

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

CQ Researcher Video Tutorial

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

What is CQ Researcher?

CQ Researcher covers reporting and analysis on topics in the news, including:

❖ health
❖ crime and civil liberties
❖ international affairs
❖ education
❖ the environment
❖ technology
❖ the US economy.

Each 12,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist, professionally fact-checked, and footnoted to facilitate further research.

Each report includes:

Overview introduces the subject under consideration and poses questions such as, "Should minors who commit adult crimes be tried as adults?" or "Is a liberal arts education the best way to prepare for the workplace?"

Background, which provides a history of the topic, including pertinent policy and legal decisions.

Current Situation provides a snapshot of the issue at the time of publication,

Outlook is a projection of what the future may bring. The

Pro/Con  brings together statements from representatives of opposing positions on the topic, including sidebars on other dimensions of the subject.

Chronology offers a list of key events in the issue's history, and graphics and data also help illuminate the topic.

Bibliography containing an annotated list of key sources, and "Next Step," an additional bibliography providing sources related to particular questions considered in the report. "Contacts" are also provided.

Authors quote a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue.