Skip to Main Content

Help with Contemporary Authors Online, (Gale)

Off Campus Access

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

About Contemporary Authors Online

Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include

•personal information 
•contact information 
•career history 
•writings 
•biographical and critical sources 
•authors' comments
•informative essays.

To find the Help page for this database, navigate to the very bottom of the page and you will see a nav bar that includes "Help"

Advanced Search in Contemporary Authors

Advanced Search Indexes
The Advanced Search indexes are searchable pieces of information about the content, such as the author name, title, and publisher, and other specific details. By selecting an index and entering a value, you can locate all matching content. You can search multiple indexes at a time.

Name of Work: Searches for articles about a work and where available, the text of the work itself.

Person - By or About: Searches for content written by or about an individual. When you are looking for content written by a particular person, use the Author index.

Abstract: Abstracts summarize the content of an article or book. The Abstract index also searches any author's abstracts.

Entire Document: Finds your search term wherever it occurs in the content. This is a good search to use if you are looking for a particular line of text, an unusual phrase, or technical terms.

Author: Also searches variant names, editors, and translators. See also: Person - By or About

Gale Document Number: The Document Number is a code that uniquely identifies each content item.

Document Title: Searches the titles of articles and multimedia content.

ISBN: Searches the International Standard Book Number (ISBN) codes assigned to books.

ISSN: Searches the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) codes assigned to periodicals.

Issue Number: The issue number, if used, references a specific instance that a periodical was published. A series of issues may be collected into a volume. Issue numbers are formatted in the database as Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3, etc.) even if the periodical originally used Roman numerals.

Publisher: Searches for content from a particular publisher.

Start Page: The page on which an article, essay, report, etc. begins. Please note that some publishers do not provide pagination or may paginate the electronic version of a journal differently than the print version. This is a good index to use along with the Publication Title index.

Volume Number: The volume number, if used, references a series of periodical issues or a specific volume of a book. Volume numbers are formatted in the database as Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3, etc.) even if the publication originally used Roman numerals.

Basic Search: Applies a proprietary algorithm designed to deliver the most relevant search results.