Extracellular Vesicles in Health and Disease by Paul Harrison (Editor); Chris Gardiner (Editor); Ian L. Sargent (Editor)Interest in the role of extracellular vesicles (microvesicles and exosomes) is expanding rapidly. It is now apparent that far from being merely cellular debris, these vesicles play a key role in cell-to-cell communication and signaling. Moreover, they are significantly elevated in a number of diseases. This raises the question of their direct role in pathogenesis as well as their possible use as biomarkers. This book stems from the first international meeting on "Microvesicles and Nanovesicles in Health and Disease" held at Magdalen College, Oxford, in 2010. The purpose of the meeting was to bring together, for the first time, a range of experts from around the world to discuss the latest advances in this field. Key to the study of these vesicles is the availability of methodologies for their measurement in biological fluids. A major section of the meeting focused on a range of exciting new technologies which have been developed for this purpose. The presentations at this meeting form the basis of this book, which will appeal to basic scientists, clinicians, and those developing technology for the measurement of extracellular vesicles.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
MOST IMPORTANT RESOURCES
The most important resources are listed below. If you are off-campus, sign in to your UML email. Additional resources are listed under the tabs at left.
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Citations and abstracts of articles from about 6,000 journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Biological Sciences Collection combines abstracts and citations from 25 individual databases covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases. Registration required before using and popups must be enabled in your browser.
Coverage: CAS 1907 - current & Medline 1950 - current
Articles on chemical substances— their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of over 1,000 articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Monthly updates keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.