Skip to main content

Help with MLA International Bibliography

Using the Peer Review Filter

Your instructors will ask you to use peer-reviewed articles; here is how to ensure the articles you find are peer-reviewed.

Peer Review in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO from MLA International Bibliography on Vimeo.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

Understanding the Results Page in MLA International Bibliography

Understanding Results and Getting Full Text

Getting Started

Using the MLA International Bibliography begins with a search. The bibliography offers many search options, which can be selected and combined to tailor the results to the researcher’s specific needs. These options include:

literary authors and their works (e.g., “Achebe, Chinua”; “Things Fall Apart”)

subject terms, including people, characters, places, periods, movements, and subject matter (e.g., “Wordsworth, William,” “Lake District,” “1700-1899,” “Romanticism,” and “landscape”)

titles of articles, books, and other scholarly works indexed in the bibliography

academic authors and their works (e.g., “Butler, Judith”; “Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity”)

language of publication (e.g., “French language”)

date of publication (e.g., “2014,” “2005-2015”)

limit to peer-reviewed journal articles

 A searchable list of all the subject terms in the bibliography and their related terms can be found in the MLA Thesaurus, included with every subscription.