Skip to Main Content

IEEE Citation Style

Citing Formats in IEEE

Basic format:

[#]     Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), title of the Book, xth ed. City of Publisher, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not "well known"): Publisher, Year of Publication, pp. xxx-xxx.

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Add Ed. or Eds. after author(s) surname(s) if author(s) are also editor(s) of the book, for example, C. Baird and C. Ludlow, Eds., Design of ...
  • Title: Subtitle of the Book in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc.
  • If the book is a second or subsequent edition, include the edition statement, e.g.  5th ed.
  • Place of publication. Refer to Place of publication for information on the correct format of locations
  • Publisher
  • Year of publication: If the publication date of the work cannot be determined, provide the abbreviation n.d. in the place of the year in the publication details eg. n.d.or [1690?] 
  • Page number(s) if appropriate. Page numbers are cited as p. for a single page or pp. for multiple pages. Refer to Page numbers section for more information on how to provide page number(s) for in-text citations. 

Chapter in authored print book:

[#]     Chapter Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), "Title of chapter in the book," in Title of the Published Book. City of Publisher, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not ‘well known’): Publisher, Year of Publication, ch. x [chapter number], or sec. x [section number], pp. xxx–xxx [page range].

Chapter in edited print book:

[#]     Chapter Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), "Title of chapter in the book," in Title of the Published Book, xth ed., vol. x. Editor(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), Ed. or Eds. City of Publisher, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not ‘well known’): Publisher, Year of Publication, ch. x [chapter number], or sec. x [section number], pp. xxx–xxx [page range].

Basic format to reference an electronic book:

[#]    Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), Title of the E-book, xth ed. City of Publisher, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not ‘well known’): Publisher, Year of Publication, pp. xxx–xxx. Accessed on: Abbreviated Month Day, Year.​ [Online]. Available: site/path/file (doi:xxxxx, database or URL)

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Title: Subtitle of the Book in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc.
  • If the book is a second or subsequent edition, include the edition statement, e.g.  5th ed.
  • Place of publication. Refer to Place of publication for information on the correct format of locations
  • Publisher
  • Year of publication:If the publication date of the work cannot be determined, provide the abbreviation n.d. in the place of the year in the publication details eg. [1690?] or n.d.
  • Page number(s) if applicable. Refer to the Page numbers box on this guide for further information
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Where there is a DOI available, do not include access date. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information.
  • [Online]
  • Available: site/path/file location of an electronic book, which can be a DOI, a library database provider or a full URL.

  1. It is preferable to provide a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) of an e-book. Refer to DOI in IEEE for further information.

  2. If a DOI of the e-book is not available, provide the Victoria University database provider. 

  3. For electronic resources found on the Internet include the full URL

Chapter in an authored electronic book:

[#]     Chapter Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), "Title of chapter in the book," in Title of the Published Book. City of Publisher, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not ‘well known’): Publisher, Year of Publication, ch.x [chapter number], or sec. x [section number], pp. xxx–xxx [page range]. Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. [Online]. Available: site/path/file (doi:xxxxx, database or URL)

Citing Format for Journal and magazine articles

Basic format to reference a print journal article

[#]    Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), “Title of the article,” Abbrev. Title of Journal, vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx–xxx, Abbrev. Month, Year.

Referencing elements to cite:           

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Title of the article in double quotation marks, in lower case
  • Title of the Journal, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc. Refer to the Journal titles abbreviations section on this page for further information.
  • Volume, issue and page number(s)
  • Abbreviated month and year of publication. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information.

Basic format to reference an electronic journal article

[#]    Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), “Title of the electronic article,” Abbrev. Title of Journal, vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx–xxx, Abbrev. Month. Year. Accessed on: Abbrev. Month. Day, Year. [Online]. Available: site/path/file (doi:xxxxx, database or URL) 

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Title of the article in double quotation marks, in lower case
  • Title of the Journal, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc. Refer to the Journal titles abbreviations section on this page for further information.
  • Volume, issue and page number(s)
  • Abbreviated month and year of publication. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information.
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Where there is a DOI available, the Access Date can be omitted.
  • [Online]
  • Available: site/path/file location of an electronic book, which can be a DOI, a library database provider or a full URL. 
  1. It is preferable to provide a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) 
  2. If a DOI of the journal article is not available, provide the Victoria University database provider. Refer to DOI in IEEE section on this guide for further information.
  3. For electronic resources found on the Internet include the full URL

Basic format to reference a print magazine article:

[#]    Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), “Title of the magazine article,” Abbrev. Title of Magazine (in italics), vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx–xxx, Abbrev. Month, Year.

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Title of the magazine article in double quotation marks, in lower case
  • Title of the Magazine, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc.
  • Volume, issue and page number(s)
  • Abbreviated month and year of publication. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information.

Basic format to reference an electronic magazine article:

[#]    Author(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), “Title of the magazine article,” Abbrev. Title of Periodical (Magazine), vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx–xxx, Abbrev. Month. Year. Accessed on: Abbrev. Month. Day, Year. [Online]. Available: site/path/file (doi:xxxxx, database or URL) 

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author’s first initial. Author’s second initial, if provided. Author’s last name
  • Title of the magazine article in double quotation marks, in lower case
  • Title of the Periodical (Magazine), in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor ones, such as ‘and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc. Refer to the Journal titles abbreviations section on this page for further information.
  • Volume, issue and page number(s)
  • Abbreviated month and year of publication. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information.
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Where there is a DOI available, the Access Date can be omitted.
  • [Online]
  • Available: site/path/file location of an electronic book, which can be a DOI, a library database provider or a full URL. 
  1. It is preferable to provide a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) 
  2. If a DOI of the magazine article is not available, provide the Victoria University database provider. Refer to DOI in IEEE section on this guide for further information.
  3. For electronic resources found on the Internet include the full URL