Bioethical Decision Making in Nursing by Gladys L. Husted; Carrie J. Scotto; Kimberly M. Wolf; James H. HustedFOURTH EDITION NAMED A 2013 DOODY'S CORE TITLE "This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making, a process that can help clarify situations where right and wrong are not clearly defined. This is] a valuable book for ethics and theory courses." Score: 100, √>=Doody's More relevant today than ever, Husted's classic nursing ethics text provides a practical framework to help nurses engage with patients to make difficult ethical decisions. It delivers a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify situations where "right" and "wrong" are not clearly defined. An abundance of case studies provides practice in bioethical decision making, with nearly 45 bioethical dilemmas analyzed in detail. The fifth edition has been reorganized and rewritten to facilitate increased readability and to engage readers more fully in learning. It includes two new chapters, Moral Distress and Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective, additional case studies, and abundant tables, diagrams, and graphics that reinforce the text discussion. Instructor resources are also available for adopters of the text. The book is grounded in the concept of "symphonia," which, within the health care arena, is the study of agreements between health care professionals and patients and the ethical implications of these agreements. It is intended to promote the welfare of both patient and health care provider. The new chapter on moral distress discusses futile care among other causes of moral distress and offers coping techniques for situations in which a nurse has an ethical issue with a standard of care but is powerless to change that care. The other new chapter, Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective, focuses on situations that can be interpreted as either moral and illegal, or immoral and legal. The fifth edition also features a new section on ethical colleagueship, providing support to relieve common dilemmas among health care professionals. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Reorganized and rewritten for ease of comprehension and increased reader engagement Includes two new chapters, Moral Distress and Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective Provides more tables, diagrams, and graphics to clarify text discussion Provides objectives at the beginning of each chapter Expanded study guide at the end of each chapter Delivers new case studies that are analyzed in depth Includes four humorous scenarios in which the humor easily reveals the obvious from the obscure Addresses ethical colleagueship GLADYS L. HUSTED, PhD, MSNEd, RN, is professor emeritus of nursing at Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She received a master's in nursing education from the University of Pittsburgh, where she also completed her PhD in curriculum and supervision. She was awarded the title of School of Nursing Distinguished Professor in 1998. She has retired from full-time employment at Duquesne University but continues to teach part time in the MSN and PhD programs. Her main area of expertise is in bioethics. She continues to write and consult. Her other areas of expertise are in curriculum design, instructional strategies, and theory development. Dr. Husted's website can be accessed at www.duq.edu/nursing/faculty/husted JAMES H. HUSTED is an independent scholar. He is a member of the American Philosophical Association and the North American Spinoza Society. He has been a member of the high IQ societies, Mensa and Intertel. He was the philosophy expert for Dial-An-M for Mensa, as well as the philosophy editor of Integra, the journal of Intertel. CARRIE J. SCOTTO, PhD, RN, is
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Principles of Health Care Ethics by John R. McMillan (Editor); Angus Dawson (Editor); Heather Draper (Editor); Richard Edmund AshcroftEdited by four leading members of the new generation of medical andhealthcare ethicists working in the UK, respected worldwide fortheir work in medical ethics, Principles of Health CareEthics, Second Edition is a standard resource forstudents, professionals, and academics wishing to understandcurrent and future issues in healthcare ethics. With a distinguished international panel of contributors workingat the leading edge of academia, this volume presents acomprehensive guide to the field, with state of the artintroductions to the wide range of topics in modern healthcareethics, from consent to human rights, from utilitarianism tofeminism, from the doctor-patient relationship toxenotransplantation. This volume is the Second Edition of the highly successful workedited by Professor Raanan Gillon, Emeritus Professor of MedicalEthics at Imperial College London and former editor of the Journalof Medical Ethics, the leading journal in this field. Developments from the First Edition include: Thefocus on 'Four Principles Method' is relaxed to covermore different methods in health care ethics. More material on newmedical technologies is included, the coverage of issues on thedoctor/patient relationship is expanded, and material on ethics andpublic health is brought together into a new section.