Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Citations and abstracts concerning world history from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1954 - current
Historical Abstracts includes 75-120 word abstracts to journal articles and citations to books and dissertations. Every year over 20,000 new entries are added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide. Over 600,000 entries currently available. The Web version is updated monthly.
CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues.
Searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library. The Library holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world, and aims to provide access to images and information about its manuscripts to students, scholars, and the general public.
The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials. Because it includes such a wide range of material, it serves as a useful resource for those working in a variety of disciplines. In order to maximize the number of images, the Catalogue includes digital scans of existing slides as well newly-commissioned digital images. As a result, the image quality can vary.
Over 1.8 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences. Note: there have been problems accessing Artstor via the Firefox browser.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.8 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Full text articles and books covering antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 140 books along with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Biographical information about current and historical people.
Biography in Context integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news.
Bibliographic citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance periods.
Iter contains more than 935,000 citations from articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews collected from over 6,600 publications, including over 1,600 journals. The search interface permits expert searching by keyword, title, author and, for selected records, by Library of Congress subject headings and Dewey Decimal Classification. The interface supports Boolean and positional operators, and allows limiting by language, publication type and publication year. Results lists can be sorted by author, subject, title, relevance or publication year. Records can be marked and conveniently e-mailed or downloaded.
The world’s largest multidisciplinary full-text database. Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, and more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.