It is a good idea to start with Article Quick Search. You will be searching nearly all the library's databases at once. If you have a narrow topic or a particular article in mind, your approach will be different.
If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here
Full-text for over 770 of the 3,000 journals indexed in nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material includes over 770 journals over the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Combines several health-related databases.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Cochrane Library is composed of a number of different databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) [which includes records previously published in the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews)], the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials, or CENTRAL), the Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), the Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
Indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, and related subjects.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. It contains records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Subject coverage includes Education, Family, Gerontology, Health services, Housing, Mental health services, Nursing, Social work, and Substance abuse.
Over 600 peer-reviewed full-text journals.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Nursing and Allied Health Collection contains over 1,100 full-text publications nearly all of which are health and medicine journals and magazines with a strong emphasis on articles cited in CINAHL. Also included areover 200 reports plus pamphlets, newsletters, and videos.
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.