The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia Clark NorthrupA compelling compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents that chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective. * Over 600 A-Z entries on key ideas, initiatives, people, and events in the history of U.S. economic policy * 31 in-depth essays on core economic issues and trends * A separate primary source section that includes 32 important treaties, key political speeches, and more relating to the American economy from the Articles of Confederation period through the Obama Administration * Easy-to-use tables of economic data designed for quick reference * Extensive cross-referencing * A bibliography of significant materials relating to all aspects of the American economy
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Collins Internet-Linked Dictionary of Economics by Christopher PassA comprehensive guide to Economics for students in all related fields. This fourth edition of the popular and bestselling Collins Dictionary of Economics has been thoroughly revised for the new millennium, and is a valuable reference book not just for students of economics, but for anyone studying economics as part of a business or social science course.
Publication Date: 2014-06-12
Dictionary of Economics by Jae K. Shim; Joel G. SiegelAt last, a dictionary of economics you don't have to be an economist to understand! Balanced budget multiplier, gross national product deflator, Laffer curve, index of consumer confidence, Clintonomics...terms like these keep cropping up in the media with ever greater frequency. And, as often as not, when you look them up, you get explanations that only a professional economist could decipher. Now, the Dictionary of Economics makes the vocabulary of economics accessible to everyone. Written by lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel, it supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge of these and more than 2,200 other economics-related terms, including: * Clear, detailed, jargon-free definitions, written in plain English * All important new terms and slang as well as traditional economics terminology * Loads of examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics * Clear, easy-to-read diagrams, charts, graphs, and illustrations that make it easy to understand even the most complex economics concepts * A practical real-world focus geared to the needs of businesspeople and concerned consumers--not economists An unfamiliar term such as balanced budget multiplier, Keynesian economics, or bond ratings crops up in a political speech, news item, or business discussion. Being the sort of person who thinks it important to stay on top of the ideas and events that shape your world, you: * Look it up in one of the many "popular" economics references now out on the market, where you quickly become lost in a maze of obscure technical jargon, abstract formulations, and other undefined terms. Some time later, you wearily close the book, knowing less than you did before you opened it. * Look it up in the Dictionary of Economics by Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel where you find detailed definitions, in plain English, complete with practical examples and applications, diagrams, charts, graphs, and everything else you need to acquire a working knowledge of more than 2,200 essential economics terms. Moments later, you close the book knowing for certain whether or not to be insulted the next time somebody calls you a diehard Keynesian, or how concerned you should be about a recent slump in the index of consumer confidence. Accessible, easy to use, and practical, the Dictionary of Economics is the first dictionary of its kind you don't need a degree in economics to use. Accomplished lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel define more than 2,200 essential economics terms clearly, simply, and with a minimum of technical jargon and economic theory. This dictionary is written especially for businesspeople and general readers who want to keep abreast of the latest economic trends. It's packed with practical examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics, and it provides detailed definitions of all important new terms as well as traditional economics terminology and everyone's favorite, slang. Whether you're a small business owner, a manager working in a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, or simply someone who wants to know more about the economic trends that influence nearly every aspect of modern life, the Dictionary of Economics is a valuable resource you don't want to be without. Among the more than forty books Drs. Shim and Siegel have collaborated on are the Dictionary of Personal Finance and the Dictionary of Accounting Terms.
Publication Date: 1995-06-22
The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations by Charles Robert McCann (Editor)The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations is a unique compendium of quotations on subjects of interest to economists and those who are generally intrigued by the social sciences. The coverage is not merely confined to economists, but includes quotes from essayists, jurists, philosophers, politicians, religious leaders, revolutionaries, scientists, and numerous other important figures who have contributed to our understanding of economic matters. Presented in a highly readable format, this impressive volume contains the thoughts and opinions of hundreds of individuals on issues relating to the economy, government, money, poverty, wealth, and a host of other important topics. Complemented by an extensive list of references and comprehensive subject index, this dictionary will be an invaluable source of reference for anyone who wants to know the answer to the question, 'Who said what about that?'.
Publication Date: 2003-12-19
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics by Thomas Cate (Editor)This thoroughly revised and updated second edition of a highly acclaimed and authoritative reference work introduces the major concepts in the field of Keynesian economics.The comprehensive Encyclopedia features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes. It brings together widely dispersed yet theoretically congruent ideas, presents concise biographies of economists who have contributed to the debate on Keynes and the Keynesian Revolution, and outlines the basic principles, models and tools used to discuss the economic consequences of The General Theory. Longer entries on specific topics associated with Keynes and the Keynesian Revolution analyse the principal factors that contributed to The General Theory, the economics of Keynes and the rise and apparent decline of Keynesian economics in greater detail.The second edition will ensure that An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics will remain the best single reference source on Keynesian economics and will continue to be welcomed by academics, students and teachers of economics as well as by scholars in related social sciences and government policymakers.
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics by Brian Snowdon (Editor); Howard R. Vane (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source on macroeconomics, which embraces definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers. Comprehensive in scope, it contains over 300 short entries and more than 100 specially commissioned main entries from an internationally renowned group of scholars.The alphabetically ordered entries will be useful both as a basic reference source and a provocative stimulus for further reading. The Encyclopedia will soon be established as a leading reference source on macroeconomics that will both enlighten students and be highly valued by scholars and teachers of economics.
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Guide to Economic Indicators by Norman FrumkinNow revised and expanded, this widely-used desk reference provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy. Equally useful for students, general readers, economists, analysts, journalists, and investors, the guide provides concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of more than 70 macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators by F. M. O'HaraDesigned to answer questions about the makeup, purpose, use, and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term, this book includes entries on 284 indicators, 137 of which are new to this edition. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them. Covering those indicators that are readily available through publication in newspapers and journals, on the World Wide Web, in library collections, or in government publications, the book will guide the researcher and librarian to current and historical values of these indicators and answer questions about their structure, function, and calculation. Arranged in dictionary format with extensive cross-references and indexing, the book is easy to use. Appendixes provide additional information on the authors and publishers of the indicators and their values as well as an extensive reading list on the subject. A final appendix identifies and defines tongue-in-cheek indicators that are frequently mentioned by professionals and in the press.
Publication Date: 2000-01-30
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor); Ramkishen S. Rajan (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. Davis (Editor); Kenneth A. A. Reinert (Editor); Ramkishen S. S. Rajan (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. S. Davis (Editor)Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals. Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy. Features: More than 300 alphabetically arranged articles on topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development International team of contributors Annotated list of further reading with each article Topical list of entries Full index and cross-references Entry categories and sample topics: Concepts and principles: globalization, anti-globalization, fair trade, foreign direct investment, international migration, economic development, multinational enterprises Models and theory: Heckscher-Ohlin model, internalization theory, New Trade Theory, North-South trade, Triffin dilemma Institutions and agreements: European Union, International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organization, World Bank, Doha Round, international investment agreements Policies and instruments: dollar standard, international aid, sanctions, tariffs Analysis and tools: exchange rate forecasting, effective protection, monetary policy rules Sectors and special issues: child labor, corporate governance, the digital divide, health and globalization, illegal drugs trade, petroleum, steel