Biomolecular Information Processing by Evgeny Katz (Editor)Edited by a renowned and much cited chemist, this book covers the whole span of molecular computers that are based on biomolecules. The contributions by all the major scientists in the field provide an excellent overview of the latest developments in this rapidly expanding area. A must-have for all researchers working on this very hot topic. Perfectly complements Molecular and Supramolecular Information Processing, also by Prof. Katz, and available as a two-volume set.
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Basic Applied Bioinformatics by Chandra Sekhar Mukhopadhyay; Ratan Kumar Choudhary; Mir Asif IquebalAn accessible guide that introduces students in all areas of life sciences to bioinformatics Basic Applied Bioinformatics provides a practical guidance in bioinformatics and helps students to optimize parameters for data analysis and then to draw accurate conclusions from the results. In addition to parameter optimization, the text will also familiarize students with relevant terminology. Basic Applied Bioinformatics is written as an accessible guide for graduate students studying bioinformatics, biotechnology, and other related sub-disciplines of the life sciences. This accessible text outlines the basics of bioinformatics, including pertinent information such as downloading molecular sequences (nucleotide and protein) from databases; BLAST analyses; primer designing and its quality checking, multiple sequence alignment (global and local using freely available software); phylogenetic tree construction (using UPGMA, NJ, MP, ME, FM algorithm and MEGA7 suite), prediction of protein structures and genome annotation, RNASeq data analyses and identification of differentially expressed genes and similar advanced bioinformatics analyses. The authors Chandra Sekhar Mukhopadhyay, Ratan Kumar Choudhary, and Mir Asif Iquebal are noted experts in the field and have come together to provide an updated information on bioinformatics. Salient features of this book includes: Accessible and updated information on bioinformatics tools A practical step-by-step approach to molecular-data analyses Information pertinent to study a variety of disciplines including biotechnology, zoology, bioinformatics and other related fields Worked examples, glossary terms, problems and solutions Basic Applied Bioinformatics gives students studying bioinformatics, agricultural biotechnology, animal biotechnology, medical biotechnology, microbial biotechnology, and zoology an updated introduction to the growing field of bioinformatics.
Publication Date: 2017-11-13
Introduction to Bioinformatics by Arthur LeskLife in a post-genomic age has the promise to revolutionize our understanding of how our genes shape who we are, how our genome evolved, and how we function. There are new possibilities for an improved quality of life as we exploit new knowledge to design novel, more effective drugs. Centralto these possibilities being realized is one of the most important information-gathering, data-mining, and knowledge-building tools in current research and healthcare development: bioinformatics.An Introduction to Bioinformatics introduces students to the immense power of bioinformatics as a set of scientific tools. The book explains how to access the data archives of genomes and proteins, and the kinds of questions these data and tools can answer: how to make inferences from the dataarchives, to make connections among them, and to derive useful and interesting predictions.Blending factual content with many opportunities for active learning, Introduction to Bioinformatics offers a truly reader-friendly way to get to grips with this subject, making it the ideal resource for anyone new to the field.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource Centre features the following materials:For lecturers (password protected):DT Figures from the book available to download, to facilitate lecture slide preparationFor students:DT Web link library of all URLs cited in the book, giving students ready access to these resources DT Guided tours of key websites, to help students get the most out of the vast array of information available onlineDT Hyperlinked bibliography - online links to articles referenced in the book, encouraging student engagement with the primary literature DT Links to PDB structures of all proteins cited in the book, to enable students to investigate the 3D structures of proteins in a visual, interactive wayDT Data from the book in computer-readable form, which is available for instant use to facilitate hands-on learning by the student- Guidance to help students answer problems from the text, to support and encourage self-directed learning
Publication Date: 2008-06-02
Text Book of Bioinformatics by Vinay Sharma1. Introduction to Bioinformatics 2. Introduction to Computers 3. Introduction to Internet 4. Search Engines: Tools for Web Search 5. Programming Languages 6. Genomics and Proteomics 7. Biological Databases 8. Sequence Analysis 9. Phylogenetic Analysis 10. Microarray Technology: A Boon to Biological Sciences 11. Bioinformatic..s in Drug Discovery: A Brief Overview 12. Genome Sequencing Projects 13. BTIS Network In India Index
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Essential Bioinformatics by Jin XiongEssential Bioinformatics is a concise yet comprehensive textbook of bioinformatics, which provides a broad introduction to the entire field. Written specifically for a life science audience, the basics of bioinformatics are explained, followed by discussions of the state-of-the-art computational tools available to solve biological research problems. All key areas of bioinformatics are covered including biological databases, sequence alignment, genes and promoter prediction, molecular phylogenetics, structural bioinformatics, genomics and proteomics. The book emphasizes how computational methods work and compares the strengths and weaknesses of different methods. This balanced yet easily accessible text will be invaluable to students who do not have sophisticated computational backgrounds. Technical details of computational algorithms are explained with a minimum use of mathematical formulae; graphical illustrations are used in their place to aid understanding. The effective synthesis of existing literature as well as in-depth and up-to-date coverage of all key topics in bioinformatics make this an ideal textbook for all bioinformatics courses taken by life science students and for researchers wishing to develop their knowledge of bioinformatics to facilitate their own research.
Publication Date: 2006-03-13
An Introduction to Bioinformatics Algorithms by Neil C. Jones; Pavel A. PevznerThis introductory text offers a clear exposition of the algorithmic principles driving advances in bioinformatics. Accessible to students in both biology and computer science, it strikes a unique balance between rigorous mathematics and practical techniques, emphasizing the ideas underlying algorithms rather than offering a collection of apparently unrelated problems.The book introduces biological and algorithmic ideas together, linking issues in computer science to biology and thus capturing the interest of students in both subjects. It demonstrates that relatively few design techniques can be used to solve a large number of practical problems in biology, and presents this material intuitively.An Introduction to Bioinformatics Algorithms is one of the first books on bioinformatics that can be used by students at an undergraduate level. It includes a dual table of contents, organized by algorithmic idea and biological idea; discussions of biologically relevant problems, including a detailed problem formulation and one or more solutions for each; and brief biographical sketches of leading figures in the field. These interesting vignettes offer students a glimpse of the inspirations and motivations for real work in bioinformatics, making the concepts presented in the text more concrete and the techniques more approachable.PowerPoint presentations, practical bioinformatics problems, sample code, diagrams, demonstrations, and other materials can be found at the Author's website.