Chemical Technology by Andreas Jess; Peter WasserscheidThis textbook provides an integral and integrated treatment of industrial-relevant problems for students of both chemistry and chemical engineering. As such, this work combines the four disciplines of chemical technology - chemistry, thermal and mechanical unit operations, chemical reaction engineering and general chemical technology - and is organized into two main parts. The first covers the fundamentals, as well as the analysis and design of industrial processes, while the second section presents 20 concrete processes, exemplifying the inherent applied nature of chemical technology. These are selected so that they all differ with respect to at least one important aspect, such as the type and design of the reactor, the chemistry involved or the separation process used. As a result, readers will recapitulate, deepen and exercise the chemical and engineering principles and their interplay, as well as being able to apply them to industrial practice. Instructive figures, rules of thumb for swift but reliable estimating of parameters, data of chemical media, and examples utilizing data from industrial processes facilitate and enhance the study process. A small general survey of selected modern trends, such as multifunctional and micro reactors, or new solvents for homogeneous catalysis, such as ionic liquids, point out to the reader that this is not a concluded discipline, but a developing field with many challenges waiting to be solved.
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice by George DeLanceyEnables chemical engineering students to bridge theory and practice Integrating scientific principles with practical engineering experience, this text enables readers to master the fundamentals of chemical processing and apply their knowledge of such topics as material and energy balances, transport phenomena, reactor design, and separations across a broad range of chemical industries. The author skillfully guides readers step by step through the execution of both chemical process analysis and equipment design. Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice is divided into two sections: the Macroscopic View and the Microscopic View. The Macroscopic View examines equipment design and behavior from the vantage point of inlet and outlet conditions. The Microscopic View is focused on the equipment interior resulting from conditions prevailing at the equipment boundaries. As readers progress through the text, they'll learn to master such chemical engineering operations and equipment as: Separators to divide a mixture into parts with desirable concentrations Reactors to produce chemicals with needed properties Pressure changers to create favorable equilibrium and rate conditions Temperature changers and heat exchangers to regulate and change the temperature of process streams Throughout the book, the author sets forth examples that refer to a detailed simulation of a process for the manufacture of acrylic acid that provides a unifying thread for equipment sizing in context. The manufacture of hexyl glucoside provides a thread for process design and synthesis. Presenting basic thermodynamics, Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice enables students in chemical engineering and related disciplines to master and apply the fundamentals and to proceed to more advanced studies in chemical engineering.
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Chemical Engineering Design by Gavin Towler; R. K. SinnottChemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes. A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data, and Excel spreadsheet calculations, plus over 150 Patent References for downloading from the companion website. Extensive instructor resources, including 1170 lecture slides and a fully worked solutions manual are available to adopting instructors. This text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken, plus graduates) and lecturers/tutors, and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors). New to this edition: Revised organization into Part I: Process Design, and Part II: Plant Design. The broad themes of Part I are flowsheet development, economic analysis, safety and environmental impact and optimization. Part II contains chapters on equipment design and selection that can be used as supplements to a lecture course or as essential references for students or practicing engineers working on design projects. New discussion of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development and revamp design Significantly increased coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing and economics New chapters on equipment selection, reactor design and solids handling processes New sections on fermentation, adsorption, membrane separations, ion exchange and chromatography Increased coverage of batch processing, food, pharmaceutical and biological processes All equipment chapters in Part II revised and updated with current information Updated throughout for latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards Additional worked examples and homework problems The most complete and up to date coverage of equipment selection 108 realistic commercial design projects from diverse industries A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data and Excel spreadsheet calculations plus over 150 Patent References, for downloading from the companion website Extensive instructor resources: 1170 lecture slides plus fully worked solutions manual available to adopting instructors
Publication Date: 2012-01-13
Chemical Process Equipment by James R. Couper; James R. FairChemical Process Equipment is a results-oriented reference for engineers who specify, design, maintain or run chemical and process plants. This book delivers information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment in a format that enables quick and accurate decision making on standard process and equipment choices, saving time, improving productivity, and building understanding. Coverage emphasizes common real-world equipment design rather than experimental or esoteric and focuses on maximizing performance. Legacy reference for chemical and related engineers who work with vendors to design, specify and make final equipment selection decisions Copious examples of successful applications, with supporting schematics and data to illustrate the functioning and performance of equipment Provides equipment rating forms and manufacturers' data, worked examples, valuable shortcut methods, and rules of thumb to demonstrate and support the design process Heavily illustrated with line drawings and schematics to aid understanding, as well as graphs and tables to illustrate performance data
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Fluid Flow for Chemical Engineers by F. A. Holland; R. BraggThis major new edition of a popular undergraduate text covers topics of interest to chemical engineers taking courses on fluid flow. These topics include non-Newtonian flow, gas-liquid two-phase flow, pumping and mixing. It expands on the explanations of principles given in the first edition and is more self-contained. Two strong features of the first edition were the extensive derivation of equations and worked examples to illustrate calculation procedures. These have been retained. A new extended introductory chapter has been provided to give the student a thorough basis to understand the methods covered in subsequent chapters.
Publication Date: 1995-03-17
Chemical Reaction Technology by Dmitry Yu. MurzinThe book discusses the sciences of operations, converting raw materials into desired products on an industrial scale by applying chemical transformations and other industrial technologies. Basics of chemical technology combining chemistry, physical transport, unit operations and chemical reactors are thoroughly prepared for an easy understanding.
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Engineering Chemistry by Raghupati MukhopadhyayAbout the Book: The book is meant for students of engineering degree colleges all over India. The syllabi covers various topics on physical chemistry, organic chemistry, industrial chemistry, and inorganic chemistry. To cover a variety of topics in a sin
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Modeling and Analysis of Dynamic Systems, Second Edition by Ramin S. Esfandiari; Bei LuModeling and Analysis of Dynamic Systems, Second Editionintroduces MATLAB#65533;, Simulink#65533;, and Simscape(tm) and then uses them throughout the text to perform symbolic, graphical, numerical, and simulation tasks. Written for junior or senior level courses, the textbook meticulously covers techniques for modeling dynamic systems, methods of response analysis, and provides an introduction to vibration and control systems. These features combine to provide students with a thorough knowledge of the mathematical modeling and analysis of dynamic systems. See What's New in the Second Edition: Coverage of modeling and analysis of dynamic systems ranging from mechanical to thermal using Simscape Utilization of Simulink for linearization as well as simulation of nonlinear dynamic systems Integration of Simscape into Simulink for control system analysis and design Each topic covered includes at least one example, giving students better comprehension of the subject matter. More complex topics are accompanied by multiple, painstakingly worked-out examples. Each section of each chapter is followed by several exercises so that students can immediately apply the ideas just learned. End-of-chapter review exercises help in learning how a combination of different ideas can be used to analyze a problem. This second edition of a bestselling textbook fully integrates the MATLAB Simscape Toolbox and covers the usage of Simulink for new purposes. It gives students better insight into the involvement of actual physical components rather than their mathematical representations.
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
Chemical Engineering by Kohei OgawaChemical engineering has often been referred to as a study in methodology. Approaches in chemical engineering are determined by individual phenomena/processes, and each of these are studied individually. The phenomena that are treated in chemical engineering can be classified into two groups: (1) phenomena that are definite and can be expressed by formulas such as differential equations (2) phenomena that can be expressed only by probability terms. The focus of Chemical Engineering - A new Perspective is on "information entropy". The main themes covered are mixing, separation, turbulent structure, particle size distribution and degree of uncertainty. The book recognizes that the information entropy may not be the only viewpoint, and how the degree of information entropy is useful for the other phenomena. * Introduction of information entropy to chemical engineering * Assertion of the significance of a consistent viewpoint * Presenting new information about phenomena that can be treated by probability terms
Publication Date: 2007-11-26
Chemical Process Engineering by Harry SillaChemical Process Engineering presents a systematic approach to solving design problems by listing the needed equations, calculating degrees-of-freedom, developing calculation procedures to generate process specifications- mostly pressures, temperatures, compositions, and flow rates- and sizing equipment. This illustrative reference/text tabulates numerous easy-to-follow calculation procedures as well as the relationships needed for sizing commonly used equipment.
Publication Date: 2003-08-08
Concepts of Chemical Engineering 4 Chemists by Stefaan Simons (Editor); E. Sorensen (Contribution by); T. Elson (Contribution by); S. Brandani (Contribution by); P. Lettieri (Contribution by)Based on the popular course of the same title, Concepts of Chemical Engineering 4 Chemists outlines the basic aspects of chemical engineering for chemistry professionals. It clarifies the terminology used and explains the systems methodology approach to process design and operation for chemists with limited chemical engineering knowledge. The book provides practical insights into all areas of chemical engineering, including such aspects as pump design and the measurement of key process variables. The calculation of design parameters, such as heat and mass transfer coefficients, and reaction scale-up are also discussed, as well as hazard analysis, project economics and process control. Designed as a reference guide, it is fully illustrated and includes worked examples as well as extensive reference and bibliography sections. Concepts of Chemical Engineering 4 Chemists is ideal for those who either work alongside chemical engineers or who are embarking on chemical engineering-type projects.