Mechatronics by Clarence W. de Silva (Editor); Farbod Khoshnoud (Editor); Li Maoqing (Editor); Saman K. Halgamuge (Editor)An Up-To-Date Reference on the Latest Developments of Mechatronics Geared toward engineers, designers, researchers, educators, and students, Mechatronics: Fundamentals and Applicationsfocuses on integrating practice with theory relevant to electromechanical and multidomain systems. A result of the Distinguished Visiting Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering, UK, held by Clarence W. de Silva, the book contains 15 chapters written by individual contributors, many of whom were speakers at the workshop. What Are Mechatronic Systems? Divided into two sections, this book covers the fundamentals and applications of mechatronic devices and systems and emphasizes specific topics that include: modeling and analytical formulations, simulation methods, design approaches, control techniques, practical tools, and cutting-edge systems and applications. The book highlights methodologies that encompass modeling, analysis, design, control, monitoring, diagnosis of mechatronic systems, and mechatronic systems and technologies. In addition, it illustrates topics by using numerous examples and various case studies from real implementations and incorporates analytical methods, practical considerations, design issues, and experimental techniques throughout the book. The text also covers some state-of-the-art technologies such as Bio-MEMS, self-powered systems and biologically inspired systems. A broad introduction to the subject of mechatronic engineering, this book: Presents the concepts of mechatronic design quotient (MDQ) and design evolution through modeling, health monitoring, design expert system, and evolutionary optimization Outlines the evolution of the discipline of mechatronics from its early days leading up to the present Includes the fundamental theory of mechanics of materials, which can be employed for application in mechatronics Explores how signals can be measured to avoid common pitfalls in signal acquisition and processing Introduces and demonstrates reinforcement learning or Q learning in physical robotic tasks, and more Mechatronics: Fundamentals and Applications presents the relevance of modeling, design, and instrumentation in the development of a mechatronic system or product and serves as a reference tool and informational resource for engineers in industry, as well as researchers and students in the field of mechatronics.
Publication Date: 2015-11-17
Introduction to Biomechatronics by Graham M. BrookerThis is the age of biomechatronics, a time where mechanics and electronics can interact with human muscle, skeleton, and nervous systems to assist or replace limbs, senses, and even organs damaged by trauma, birth defects, or disease. Introduction to Biomechatronics provides biomedical engineering students and professionals with the fundamental mechatronic (mechanics, electronics, robotics) engineering knowledge they need to analyze and design devices that improve lives. The first half of the book provides the engineering background to understand all the components of a biomechatronic system: the human subject, stimulus or actuation, transducers and sensors, signal conditioning elements, recording and display, and feedback elements. It also includes the major functional systems of the body to which biomechatronics can be applied including: biochemical, nervous, cardiovascular, respiratory, and musculoskeletal. The second half discusses five broadly based inventions from a historical perspective and supported by the relevant technical detail and engineering analysis. It begins with the development of hearing prostheses including middle-ear implantable hearing devices and the amazingly successful cochlear implant. This is followed by sensory substitution and visual prostheses that researchers hope will do the same for the blind as the cochlear implant has done for the deaf. The last three chapters are more mechatronic in focus, examining artificial hearts, respiratory aids from the iron lung to the latest CPAP devices, and finally artificial limbs from the first hooks and peg legs to limbs that move and have a sense of touch. Introduction to Biomechatronics provides readers with the engineering background to analyze and design biomechatronic devices, and inspires them to greater designs by discussing successful inventions that have done the most to improve our lives. Supplementary material can be found at the IET's ebook page
Publication Date: 2012-04-11
Mechatronics by Godfrey C. OnwuboluMechatronics is a core subject for engineers, combining elements of mechanical and electronic engineering into the development of computer-controlled mechanical devices such as DVD players or anti-lock braking systems. This book is the most comprehensive text available for both mechanical and electrical engineering students and will enable them to engage fully with all stages of mechatronic system design. It offers broader and more integrated coverage than other books in the field with practical examples, case studies and exercises throughout and an Instructor's Manual. A further key feature of the book is its integrated coverage of programming the PIC microcontroller, and the use of MATLAB and Simulink programming and modelling, along with code files for downloading from the accompanying website. * Integrated coverage of PIC microcontroller programming, MATLAB and Simulink modelling * Fully developed student exercises, detailed practical examples * Accompanying website with Instructor's Manual, downloadable code and image bank
Publication Date: 2005-05-25
Mechatronics by D. A. Bradley; D. Dawson; A. J. LoaderMechatronics: Electronics in Products and Processes identifies the concepts which underpin the mechatronic approach to engineering design and brings together its principle components - sensors and transducers, embedded microprocessors, actuators and drives - to explore their interrelationships. The text focuses primarily on hardware elements and the impact of system architecture. Modern technology is set in an historical background and each chapter comes with learning objectives and chapter outlines. The book includes numerous case studies illustrating the concepts applied in such areas as automatic cameras, aerospace parts manufacturing, fly-by-wire systems, and boat autopilot.