Understanding Mems by Luis CastañerThe continued advancement of MEMS (micro-electro-mechanical systems) complexity, performance, commercial exploitation and market size requires an ever-expanding graduate population with state-of-the-art expertise. Understanding MEMS: Principles and Applications provides a comprehensive introduction to this complex and multidisciplinary technology that is accessible to senior undergraduate and graduate students from a range of engineering and physical sciences backgrounds. Fully self-contained, this textbook is designed to help students grasp the key principles and operation of MEMS devices and to inspire advanced study or a career in this field. Moreover, with the increasing application areas, product categories and functionality of MEMS, industry professionals will also benefit from this consolidated overview, source of relevant equations and extensive solutions to problems. Key features: Details the fundamentals of MEMS, enabling readers to understand the basic governing equations and know how they apply at the micron scale. Strong pedagogical emphasis enabling students to understand the fundamentals of MEMS devices. Self-contained study aid featuring problems and solutions. Book companion website hosts Matlab and PSpice codes and viewgraphs.
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Mems by Vikas Choudhary (Editor); Krzysztof Iniewski (Editor)The microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) industry has experienced explosive growth over the last decade. Applications range from accelerometers and gyroscopes used in automotive safety to high-precision on-chip integrated oscillators for reference generation and mobile phones. MEMS: Fundamental Technology and Applications brings together groundbreaking research in MEMS technology and explores an eclectic set of novel applications enabled by the technology. The book features contributions by top experts from industry and academia from around the world. The contributors explain the theoretical background and supply practical insights on applying the technology. From the historical evolution of nano micro systems to recent trends, they delve into topics including: Thin-film integrated passives as an alternative to discrete passives The possibility of piezoelectric MEMS Solutions for MEMS gyroscopes Advanced interconnect technologies Ambient energy harvesting Bulk acoustic wave resonators Ultrasonic receiver arrays using MEMS sensors Optical MEMS-based spectrometers The integration of MEMS resonators with conventional circuitry A wearable inertial and magnetic MEMS sensor assembly to estimate rigid body movement patterns Wireless microactuators to enable implantable MEMS devices for drug delivery MEMS technologies for tactile sensing and actuation in robotics MEMS-based micro hot-plate devices Inertial measurement units with integrated wireless circuitry to enable convenient, continuous monitoring Sensors using passive acousto-electric devices in wired and wireless systems Throughout, the contributors identify challenges and pose questions that need to be resolved, paving the way for new applications. Offering a wide view of the MEMS landscape, this is an invaluable resource for anyone working to develop and commercialize MEMS applications.
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
MEMS Introduction and Fundamentals by Mohamed Gad-El-HakAs our knowledge of MEMS continues to grow, so does The MEMS Handbook. The field has changed so much that this Second Edition is now available in three volumes. Individually, each volume provides focused, authoritative treatment of specific areas of interest. Together, they comprise the most comprehensive collection of MEMS knowledge available, packaged in an attractive slipcase and offered at a substantial savings. This best-selling handbook is now more convenient than ever, and its coverage is unparalleled. The first of three volumes, MEMS: Introduction and Fundamentals covers the theoretical and conceptual underpinnings of the field, emphasizing the physical phenomena that dominate at the micro-scale. It also explores the mechanical properties of MEMS materials, modeling and simulation of MEMS, control theory, and bubble/drop transport in microchannels. Chapters were updated where necessary, and the book also includes two new chapters on microscale hydrodynamics and lattice Boltzmann simulations. This volume builds a strong foundation for further study and work in the MEMS field. MEMS: Introduction and Fundamentals comprises contributions from the foremost experts in their respective specialties from around the world. Acclaimed author and expert Mohamed Gad-el-Hak has again raised the bar to set a new standard for excellence and authority in the fledgling fields of MEMS and nanotechnology.
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
Introduction to Microelectromechanical Systems Engineering by Nadim Maluf; Kirt WilliamsMEMS (microelectromechanical systems) technology makes possible the production of miniature devices and systems that stand to revolutionize industrial, optical, medical and electronic markets. Thousands of practitioners and students have gained a solid understanding of MEMS with the best-selling first edition of this book. Now in its second edition, An Introduction to Microelectromechanical Systems Engineering brings readers to up-to-date with the latest developments in this cutting-edge area. Featuring brand new coverage of today's hottest topics, such as RF MEMS and photonic MEMS, this thoroughly revised resource shows engineers, technical managers, and executives how their projects may benefit from a MEMS solution.