Computational Continuum Mechanics by Ahmed A. ShabanaAn updated and expanded edition of the popular guide to basic continuum mechanics and computational techniques This updated third edition of the popular reference covers state-of-the-art computational techniques for basic continuum mechanics modeling of both small and large deformations. Approaches to developing complex models are described in detail, and numerous examples are presented demonstrating how computational algorithms can be developed using basic continuum mechanics approaches. The integration of geometry and analysis for the study of the motion and behaviors of materials under varying conditions is an increasingly popular approach in continuum mechanics, and absolute nodal coordinate formulation (ANCF) is rapidly emerging as the best way to achieve that integration. At the same time, simulation software is undergoing significant changes which will lead to the seamless fusion of CAD, finite element, and multibody system computer codes in one computational environment. Computational Continuum Mechanics, Third Edition is the only book to provide in-depth coverage of the formulations required to achieve this integration. Provides detailed coverage of the absolute nodal coordinate formulation (ANCF), a popular new approach to the integration of geometry and analysis Provides detailed coverage of the floating frame of reference (FFR) formulation, a popular well-established approach for solving small deformation problems Supplies numerous examples of how complex models have been developed to solve an array of real-world problems Covers modeling of both small and large deformations in detail Demonstrates how to develop computational algorithms using basic continuum mechanics approaches Computational Continuum Mechanics, Third Edition is designed to function equally well as a text for advanced undergraduates and first-year graduate students and as a working reference for researchers, practicing engineers, and scientists working in computational mechanics, bio-mechanics, computational biology, multibody system dynamics, and other fields of science and engineering using the general continuum mechanics theory.
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Continuum Mechanics by Andrus Koppel; Jaak OjaContinuum mechanics is a branch of mechanics that deals with the analysis of the kinematics and mechanical behaviour of materials modelled as a continuum (eg: solids and fluids, liquids and gases). A continuum concept assumes that the substance of the body is distributed throughout -- and completely fills -- the space it occupies. Differential equations can be employed in solving problems in continuum mechanics. Some of these differential equations are specific to the materials being investigated and are called constitutive equations, while others capture fundamental physical laws, such as the conservation of mass (the continuity equation), the conservation of momentum (the equations of motion and equilibrium), and the conservation of energy (the first law of thermodynamics). This book gathers the latest research from around the globe in this field.
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Introduction to Continuum Mechanics by W. Michael Lai; David Rubín; Erhard KremplContinuum Mechanics is a branch of physical mechanics that describes the macroscopic mechanical behavior of solid or fluid materials considered to be continuously distributed. It is fundamental to the fields of civil, mechanical, chemical and bioengineering. This time-tested text has been used for over 35 years to introduce junior and senior-level undergraduate engineering students, as well as graduate students, to the basic principles of continuum mechanics and their applications to real engineering problems. The text begins with a detailed presentation of the coordinate invariant quantity, the tensor, introduced as a linear transformation. This is then followed by the formulation of the kinematics of deformation, large as well as very small, the description of stresses and the basic laws of continuum mechanics. As applications of these laws, the behaviors of certain material idealizations (models) including the elastic, viscous and viscoelastic materials, are presented. This new edition offers expanded coverage of the subject matter both in terms of details and contents, providing greater flexibility for either a one or two-semester course in either continuum mechanics or elasticity. Although this current edition has expanded the coverage of the subject matter, it nevertheless uses the same approach as that in the earlier editions - that one can cover advanced topics in an elementary way that go from simple to complex, using a wealth of illustrative examples and problems. It is, and will remain, one of the most accessible textbooks on this challenging engineering subject. Significantly expanded coverage of elasticity in Chapter 5, including solutions of some 3-D problems based on the fundamental potential functions approach. New section at the end of Chapter 4 devoted to the integral formulation of the field equations Seven new appendices appear at the end of the relevant chapters to help make each chapter more self-contained Expanded and improved problem sets providing both intellectual challenges and engineering applications
Publication Date: 2009-07-23
Continuum Mechanics for Engineers, Third Edition by G. Thomas Mase; Ronald E. SmelserContinuum Mechanics for Engineers, Third Editionprovides engineering students with a complete, concise, and accessible introduction to advanced engineering mechanics. The impetus for this latest edition was the need to suitably combine the introduction of continuum mechanics, linear and nonlinear elasticity, and viscoelasticity for a graduate-level course sequence. An outgrowth of course notes and problems used to teach these subjects, the third edition of this bestselling text explores the basic concepts behind these topics and demonstrates their application in engineering practice. Presents Material Consistent with Modern Literature A new rearranged and expanded chapter on elasticity more completely covers Saint-Venant's solutions. Subsections on extension, torsion, pure bending and flexure present an excellent foundation for posing and solving basic elasticity problems. The authors' presentation enables continuum mechanics to be applied to biological materials, in light of their current importance. They have also altered the book's notation--a common struggle for many students--to better align it with modern continuum mechanics literature. This book addresses students' need to understand the sophisticated simulation programs that use nonlinear kinematics and various constitutive relationships. It includes an introduction to problem solution using MATLAB®, emphasizing this language's value in enabling users to stay focused on fundamentals. This book provides information that is useful in emerging engineering areas, such as micro-mechanics and biomechanics. With an abundance of worked examples and chapter problems, it carefully explains necessary mathematics as required and presents numerous illustrations, giving students and practicing professionals an excellent self-study guide to enhance their skills. Through a mastery of this volume's contents and additional rigorous finite element training, they will develop the mechanics foundation necessary to skillfully use modern, advanced design tools.
Textbooks flagged as accessible meet the criteria noted on the Accessibility Checklist
textbook cover image
Get This Book
Select a file format
Creative Commons License
Basics of Fluid Mechanics by Genick Bar-Meir, Ph. D, Potto Project is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Introduction to Fluid Mechanics (2nd Edition) by Nakayama, YasukiThis book uses clear images and animations of flow patterns to help readers grasp the fundamental rules of fluid behavior. Everyday examples are provided for practical context, before tackling the more involved mathematic techniques that form the basis for computational fluid mechanics.
This fully updated and expanded edition builds on the author's flair for flow visualization with new content. With basic introductions to all essential fluids theory, and exercises to test your progress, this is the ideal introduction to fluids for anyone involved in mechanical, civil, chemical, or biomedical engineering
Publication Date: 2018
Modern Fluid Dynamics by Clement KleinstreuerModern Fluid Dynamics, Second Edition provides up-to-date coverage of intermediate and advanced fluids topics. The text emphasizes fundamentals and applications, supported by worked examples and case studies. Scale analysis, non-Newtonian fluid flow, surface coating, convection heat transfer, lubrication, fluid-particle dynamics, microfluidics, entropy generation, and fluid-structure interactions are among the topics covered. Part A presents fluids principles, and prepares readers for the applications of fluid dynamics covered in Part B, which includes computer simulations and project writing. A review of the engineering math needed for fluid dynamics is included in an appendix.
Analytical Fluid Dynamics, Third Edition by George EmanuelNew Edition Now Covers Shock-Wave Analysis An in-depth presentation of analytical methods and physical foundations, Analytical Fluid Dynamics, Third Editionbreaks down the "how" and "why" of fluid dynamics. While continuing to cover the most fundamental topics in fluid mechanics, this latest work emphasizes advanced analytical approaches to aid in the analytical process and corresponding physical interpretation. It also addresses the need for a more flexible mathematical language (utilizing vector and tensor analysis and transformation theory) to cover the growing complexity of fluid dynamics. Revised and updated, the text centers on shock-wave structure, shock-wave derivatives, and shock-produced vorticity; supersonic diffusers; thrust and lift from an asymmetric nozzle; and outlines operator methods and laminar boundary-layer theory. In addition, the discussion introduces pertinent assumptions, reasons for studying a particular topic, background discussion, illustrative examples, and numerous end-of-chapter problems. Utilizing a wide variety of topics on inviscid and viscous fluid dynamics, the author covers material that includes: Viscous dissipation The second law of thermodynamics Calorically imperfect gas flows Aerodynamic sweep Shock-wave interference Unsteady one-dimensional flow Internal ballistics Force and momentum balance The Substitution Principle Rarefaction shock waves A comprehensive treatment of flow property derivatives just downstream of an unsteady three-dimensional shock Shock-generated vorticity Triple points An extended version of the Navier‒Stokes equations Shock-free supersonic diffusers Lift and thrust from an asymmetric nozzle Analytical Fluid Dynamics, Third Editionoutlines the basics of analytical fluid mechanics while emphasizing analytical approaches to fluid dynamics. Covering the material in-depth, this book provides an authoritative interpretation of formulations and procedures in analytical fluid dynamics, and offers analytical solutions to fluid dynamic problems.
Advanced Fluid Mechanics by William P. GraebelFluid mechanics is the study of how fluids behave and interact under various forces and in various applied situations, whether in liquid or gas state or both. The author compiles pertinent information that are introduced in the more advanced classes at the senior level and at the graduate level. "Advanced Fluid Mechanics" courses typically cover a variety of topics involving fluids in various multiple states (phases), with both elastic and non-elastic qualities, and flowing in complex ways. This new text will integrate both the simple stages of fluid mechanics ("Fundamentals") with those involving more complex parameters, including Inviscid Flow in multi-dimensions, Viscous Flow and Turbulence, and a succinct introduction to Computational Fluid Dynamics. It will offer exceptional pedagogy, for both classroom use and self-instruction, including many worked-out examples, end-of-chapter problems, and actual computer programs that can be used to reinforce theory with real-world applications. Professional engineers as well as Physicists and Chemists working in the analysis of fluid behavior in complex systems will find the contents of this book useful.All manufacturing companies involved in any sort of systems that encompass fluids and fluid flow analysis (e.g., heat exchangers, air conditioning and refrigeration, chemical processes, etc.) or energy generation (steam boilers, turbines and internal combustion engines, jet propulsion systems, etc.), or fluid systems and fluid power (e.g., hydraulics, piping systems, and so on)will reap the benefits of this text. . Offers detailed derivation of fundamental equations for better comprehension of more advanced mathematical analysis . Provides groundwork for more advanced topics on boundary layer analysis, unsteady flow, turbulent modeling, and computational fluid dynamics . Includes worked-out examples and end-of-chapter problems as well as a companion web site with sample computational programs and Solutions Manual
Publication Date: 2007-06-21
Elementary Fluid Mechanics by Tsutomu KambeThis textbook describes the fundamental OC physicalOCO aspects of fluid flows for beginners of fluid mechanics in physics, mathematics and engineering, from the point of view of modern physics. It also emphasizes the dynamical aspects of fluid motions rather than the static aspects, illustrating vortex motions, waves, geophysical flows, chaos and turbulence. Beginning with the fundamental concepts of the nature of flows and the properties of fluids, the book presents fundamental conservation equations of mass, momentum and energy, and the equations of motion for both inviscid and viscous fluids. In addition to the fundamentals, this book also covers water waves and sound waves, vortex motions, geophysical flows, nonlinear instability, chaos, and turbulence. Furthermore, it includes the chapters on superfluids and the gauge theory of fluid flows. The material in the book emerged from the lecture notes for an intensive course on Elementary Fluid Mechanics for both undergraduate and postgraduate students of theoretical physics given in 2003 and 2004 at the Nankai Institute of Mathematics (Tianjin) in China. Hence, each chapter may be presented separately as a single lecture."
Publication Date: 2007-01-04
Fluid Mechanics and Machinery by C. P. Kothandaraman; R. RudramoorthyNumerical examples for each of the equations derived.Solved problems to highlight whole spectrum of applications.Objective questions for self-evaluation.Graded problems for exercises, mostly with answers.ABOUT THE BOOK:This book is intended for use in undergraduate courses of Civil, Mechanical and Chemical Engineering. The SI system of units is adopted throughout. In order to give extensive practice in the application of various concepts, the following format is used in all the chapters.Enunciation of basic concepts.Development of physical and mathematical models with interspersed numerical examples.Illustrative examples involving the application and extension of the models developed.Objective questions and exercise problems.
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Fluid Mechanics and Pipe Flow by Donald Matos; Cristian ValerioFluid mechanics is the study of how fluids move and the forces that develop as a result. Fluids include liquids and gases and fluid flow can be either laminar or turbulent. This book presents a level set based methodology that will avoid problems in potential flow models with moving boundaries. A review of the state-of-the-art population balance modelling techniques that have been adopted to describe the nature of dispersed phase in multiphase problems is presented as well. Recent works that are aimed at putting forward the main ideas behind a new theoretical approach to turbulent wall-bounded flows are examined, including a state-of-the-art review on single-phase incompressible fluid flow.
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Fluid Mechanics, Thermodynamics of Turbomachinery by S. L. DixonThe new edition will continue to be of use to engineers in industry and technological establishments, especially as brief reviews are included on many important aspects of Turbomachinery, giving pointers towards more advanced sources of information. For readers looking towards the wider reaches of the subject area, very useful additional reading is referenced in the bibliography. The subject of Turbomachinery is in continual review, and while the basics do not change, research can lead to refinements in popular methods, and new data can emerge. This book has applications for professionals and students in many subsets of the mechanical engineering discipline, with carryover into thermal sciences; which include fluid mechanics, combustion and heat transfer; dynamics and vibrations, as well as structural mechanics and materials engineering. An important, long overdue new chapter on Wind Turbines, with a focus on blade aerodynamics, with useful worked examples Includes important material on axial flow compressors and pumps Example questions and answers throughout
Publication Date: 2005-03-30
Fluid Mechanics by Ira M. Cohen; Pijush K. KunduFluid mechanics, the study of how fluids behave and interact under various forces and in various applied situationsOCowhether in the liquid or gaseous state or bothOCois introduced and comprehensively covered in this widely adopted text. Fully revised and updated with the addition of a new chapter on biofluid mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Fourth Edition is suitable for both a first or second course in fluid mechanics at the graduate or advanced undergraduate level. The leading advanced general text on fluid mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, 4e guides students from the fundamentals to the analysis and application of fluid mechanics, including compressible flow and such diverse applications as hydraulics and aerodynamics. Updates to several chapters and sections, including Boundary Layers, Turbulence, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, Thermodynamics and Compressibility. Fully revised and updated chapter on Computational Fluid Dynamics. New chapter on Biofluid Mechanics by Professor Portonovo Ayyaswamy, the Asa Whitney Professor of Dynamical Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania. New Visual Resources appendix provides a list of fluid mechanics films available for viewing online. Additional worked-out examples and end-of-chapter problems. Updated online Solutions Manual for adopting instructors."
Publication Date: 2009-01-07
Prandtl's Essentials of Fluid Mechanics 5/2 by Herbert Oertel (Editor); K. Mayes (Translator)This book is an update and extension of the classic textbook by Ludwig Prandtl, Essentials of Fluid Mechanics . It is based on the 10th German edition with additional material included. Chapters on wing aerodynamics, heat transfer, and layered flows have been revised and extended, and there are new chapters on fluid mechanical instabilities and biomedical fluid mechanics. References to the literature have been kept to a minimum, and the extensive historical citations may be found by referring to previous editions. This book is aimed at science and engineering students who wish to attain an overview of the various branches of fluid mechanics. It will also be useful as a reference for researchers working in the field of fluid mechanics.
Publication Date: 2004-03-22
Environmental Fluid Mechanics by Joseph Atkinson; Hillel RubinEnvironmental Fluid Mechanics provides comprehensive coverage of a combination of basic fluid principles and their application in a number of different situations-exploring fluid motions on the earth's surface, underground, and in oceans-detailing the use of physical and numerical models and modern computational approaches for the analysis of environmental processes. Environmental Fluid Mechanics covers novel scaling methods for a variety of environmental issues; equations of motion for boundary layers; hydraulic characteristics of open channel flow; surface and internal wave theory; the advection diffusion equation; sediment and associated contaminant transport in lakes and streams; mixed layer modeling in lakes; remediation; transport processes at the air/water interface; and more.
Basics of Engineering Turbulence by David TingBasics of Engineering Turbulence introduces flow turbulence to engineers and engineering students who have a fluid dynamics background, but do not have advanced knowledge on the subject. It covers the basic characteristics of flow turbulence in terms of its many scales. The author uses a pedagogical approach to help readers better understand the fundamentals of turbulence scales, especially how they are derived through the order of magnitude analysis. This book is intended for those who have an interest in flowing fluids. It provides some background, though of limited scope, on everyday flow turbulence, especially in engineering applications. The book begins with the 'basics' of turbulence which is necessary for any reader being introduced to the subject, followed by several examples of turbulence in engineering applications. This overall approach gives readers all they need to grasp both the fundamentals of turbulence and its applications in practical instances. Focuses on the basics of turbulence for applications in engineering and industrial settings Provides an understanding of concepts that are often challenging, such as energy distribution among the turbulent structures, the effective diffusivity, and the theory behind turbulence scales Offers a user-friendly approach with clear-and-concise explanations and illustrations, as well as end-of-chapter problems