Bird's Comprehensive Engineering Mathematics by John BirdStudying engineering, whether it is mechanical, electrical or civil, relies heavily on an understanding of mathematics. This textbook clearly demonstrates the relevance of mathematical principles and shows how to apply them in real-life engineering problems. It deliberately starts at an elementary level so that students who are starting from a low knowledge base will be able to quickly get up to the level required. Students who have not studied mathematics for some time will find this an excellent refresher. Each chapter starts with the basics before gently increasing in complexity. A full outline of essential definitions, formulae, laws and procedures are introduced before real world practical situations and problem solving demonstrate how the theory is applied. Focusing on learning through practice, it contains simple explanations, supported by 1600 worked problems and over 3600 further problems contained within 384 exercises throughout the text. In addition, 35 Revision tests together with 9 Multiple-choice tests are included at regular intervals for further strengthening of knowledge. An interactive companion website provides material for students and lecturers, including detailed solutions to all 3600 further problems.
Publication Date: 2018-06-18
Modern Engineering Mathematics by Abul Hasan Siddiqi; Mohamed Al-Lawati; Messaoud BoulbracheneThis book is a compendium of fundamental mathematical concepts, methods, models, and their wide range of applications in diverse fields of engineering. It comprises essentially a comprehensive and contemporary coverage of those areas of mathematics which provide foundation to electronic, electrical, communication, petroleum, chemical, civil, mechanical, biomedical, software, and financial engineering. It gives a fairly extensive treatment of some of the recent developments in mathematics which have found very significant applications to engineering problems.
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Mathematics for Civil Engineers by Yang Xin-She (Contribution by)Mathematics for Civil Engineers provides a concise introduction to the fundamental concepts of mathematics that are closely related to civil engineering. By using an informal and theorem-free approach with more than 150 step-by-step examples, all the key mathematical concepts and techniques are introduced. Thus users of this textbook will gain the basic knowledge and understanding required for their work. Exercises are included In each chapter to give readers the opportunity to apply their new knowledge; the answers to these dozens of exercises are provided at the end of the book.Topics include functions, trigonometrical functions, equations, polynomials, vectors and matrices, eigenvalues and eigenvectors, tensors, differentiation, integration, advanced calculus such as double integrals and special integrals, complex numbers, differential equations, Fourier series and transforms, Laplace transforms, probability and statistics, curve-fitting and linear regression. Advanced topics include partial differential equations and integral equations, root-finding algorithms for nonlinear equations, numerical methods for solving differential equations, optimization and nonlinear optimization. Mathematics for Civil Engineers allows undergraduates and civil engineers to develop a necessary, essential, knowledge of engineering mathematics. Many of the worked examples are chosen to reflect situations and problems in civil engineering practise. Examples include moment of inertia, second moment of area, beam buckling, harmonic motion and forced harmonic motion, elasticity, transfer function, waves and heat transfer, maximization and minimization and many others. All these topics and examples will help readers to gain more insight and to build sufficient confidence in applying engineering mathematics for problem solving in real engineering situations. This book may also be useful for practitioners in other engineering disciplines to improve their basic mathematical skills.
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Introductory Engineering Mathematics by David Reeping, Kenneth ReidThis text serves as a concise introduction to the ocean of information collectively known as “Engineering Mathematics.” Admittedly, compiling everything into a short book that is useful to any audience is an impossible task; therefore, we picked a few main ideas holding up the mathematics within the engineering curriculum instead of stuffing all of the details into such a small package. This text addresses conceptual understanding as often as possible by providing an intuitive basis for formalized study within engineering/mathematics. Whether you are a math or science instructor tasked to teach an engineering class, a high school student looking into engineering, or an engineering student already, we hope you are able to walk away from this text with tangible outcomes—maybe even a refined perspective on the subject.
Publication Date: 2016
An Engineer's Guide to Mathematica by Edward B. MagrabFree Mathematica 10 Update Included! Now available from www.wiley.com/go/magrab Updated material includes: - Creating regions and volumes of arbitrary shape and determining their properties: arc length, area, centroid, and area moment of inertia - Performing integrations, solving equations, and determining the maximum and minimum values over regions of arbitrary shape - Solving numerically a class of linear second order partial differential equations in regions of arbitrary shape using finite elements An Engineer's Guide to Mathematica enables the reader to attain the skills to create Mathematica 9 programs that solve a wide range of engineering problems and that display the results with annotated graphics. This book can be used to learn Mathematica, as a companion to engineering texts, and also as a reference for obtaining numerical and symbolic solutions to a wide range of engineering topics. The material is presented in an engineering context and the creation of interactive graphics is emphasized. The first part of the book introduces Mathematica's syntax and commands useful in solving engineering problems. Tables are used extensively to illustrate families of commands and the effects that different options have on their output. From these tables, one can easily determine which options will satisfy one's current needs. The order of the material is introduced so that the engineering applicability of the examples increases as one progresses through the chapters. The second part of the book obtains solutions to representative classes of problems in a wide range of engineering specialties. Here, the majority of the solutions are presented as interactive graphics so that the results can be explored parametrically. Key features: Material is based on Mathematica 9 Presents over 85 examples on a wide range of engineering topics, including vibrations, controls, fluids, heat transfer, structures, statistics, engineering mathematics, and optimization Each chapter contains a summary table of the Mathematica commands used for ease of reference Includes a table of applications summarizing all of the engineering examples presented. Accompanied by a website containing Mathematica notebooks of all the numbered examples An Engineer's Guide to Mathematica is a must-have reference for practitioners, and graduate and undergraduate students who want to learn how to solve engineering problems with Mathematica.
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
Engineering Mathematics by Pal, Srimanta; Bhunia, Subodh C.This book is a textbook for undergraduate students of all streams of engineering. This book covers all the topics taught in mathematics in different semesters in the B.Tech curriculum. Beginning with the basics, the book first introduces mathematics and its nuances to the students and explains the difference between applied mathematics and engineering mathematics. Fundamental topics such as sequence and series and matrices are discussed with the applications to engineering problems. Other important topics such as three-dimensional geometry, functions of single variable and several variables, differential calculus, integral calculus, Fourier series, Fourier transform, Fourier integrals, ordinary differential equations, partial differential equations, special functions, vector calculus, complex analysis, and Laplace transform have been discussed in detail. Separate chapters are dedicated to probability, statistics, numerical methods, and discrete mathematics
Basic Engineering Mathematics by John BirdUnlike most engineering maths texts, this book does not assume a firm grasp of GCSE maths, and unlike low-level general maths texts, the content is tailored specifically to the needs of engineers. The result is a unique book written for engineering students that takes a starting point below GCSE level. Basic Engineering Mathematics is therefore ideal for students of a wide range of abilities, especially for those who find the theoretical side of mathematics difficult. Now in its fifth edition, Basic Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook, with the previous edition selling nearly 7500 copies.All students that require a fundamental knowledge of mathematics for engineering will find this book essential reading. The content has been designed primarily to meet the needs of students studying Level 2 courses, including GCSE Engineering, the Diploma, and the BTEC First specifications. Level 3 students will also find this text to be a useful resource for getting to grips with essential mathematics concepts, because the compulsory topics in BTEC National and A Level Engineering courses are also addressed."
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
Engineering Mathematics by A. Ganesh; G. BalasubramanianAbout the Book: This book Engineering Mathematics-II is designed as a self-contained, comprehensive classroom text for the second semester B.E. Classes of Visveswaraiah Technological University as per the Revised new Syllabus. The topics included are Dif
Applied Engineering Mathematics by Xin-She YangThis book strives to provide a concise and yet comprehensive cover-age of all major mathematical methods in engineering. Topics in-clude advanced calculus, ordinary and partial differential equations, complex variables, vector and tensor analysis, calculus of variations, integral transforms, integral equations, numerical methods, and prob-ability and statistics. Application topics consist of linear elasticity, harmonic motions, chaos, and reaction-diffusion systems. . This book can serve as a textbook in engineering mathematics, mathematical modelling and scientific computing. This book is organised into 19 chapters. Chapters 1-14 introduce various mathematical methods, Chapters 15-18 concern the numeri-cal methods, and Chapter 19 introduces the probability and statistics.
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Merle C. Potter; Jack Goldberg; Edward AboufadelThis is a textbook for students in departments of Aerospace, Electrical, and Mechanical Engineering, taking a course called Advanced Engineering Mathematics, Engineering Analysis, or Mathematics of Engineering. This text focuses on mathematical methods that are necessary for solving engineering problems. In addition to topics covered by competition, this book integrates the numerical computation programs MATLAB, Excel and Maple.New to this edition: Introduction of Maple, MATLAB, or Excel into each section and into problem sets New chapter on wavelets added
Publication Date: 2005-02-17
Mathematics for Engineers and Technologists by Huw Fox; W. BoltonThis book is carefully designed to be used on a wide range of introductory courses at first degree and HND level in the U.K., with content matched to a variety of first year degree modules from IEng and other BSc Engineering and Technology courses. Lecturers will find the breadth of material covered gears the book towards a flexible style of use, which can be tailored to their syllabus, and used along side the other IIE Core Textbooks to bring first year students up to speed on the mathematics they require for their engineering degree. *Features real-world examples, case studies, assignments and knowledge-check questions throughout *Introduces key mathematical methods in practical engineering contexts *Bridges the gap between theory and practice
Publication Date: 2002-07-18
Introduction to Differential Calculus by Ulrich L. Rohde; G. C. Jain; Ajay K. Poddar; A. K. Ghosh; G.C. JainEnables readers to apply the fundamentals of differential calculus to solve real-life problems in engineering and the physical sciences Introduction to Differential Calculus fully engages readers by presenting the fundamental theories and methods of differential calculus and then showcasing how the discussed concepts can be applied to real-world problems in engineering and the physical sciences. With its easy-to-follow style and accessible explanations, the book sets a solid foundation before advancing to specific calculus methods, demonstrating the connections between differential calculus theory and its applications. The first five chapters introduce underlying concepts such as algebra, geometry, coordinate geometry, and trigonometry. Subsequent chapters present a broad range of theories, methods, and applications in differential calculus, including: Concepts of function, continuity, and derivative Properties of exponential and logarithmic function Inverse trigonometric functions and their properties Derivatives of higher order Methods to find maximum and minimum values of a function Hyperbolic functions and their properties Readers are equipped with the necessary tools to quickly learn how to understand a broad range of current problems throughout the physical sciences and engineering that can only be solved with calculus. Examples throughout provide practical guidance, and practice problems and exercises allow for further development and fine-tuning of various calculus skills. Introduction to Differential Calculus is an excellent book for upper-undergraduate calculus courses and is also an ideal reference for students and professionals alike who would like to gain a further understanding of the use of calculus to solve problems in a simplified manner.
Linear and Semilinear Partial Differential Equations by Radu PrecupThis textbook provides a brief and lucid introduction to the theory of linear partial differential equations. It clearly explains the transition from classical to generalized solutions and the natural way in which Sobolev spaces appear as completions of spaces of continuously differentiable functions. The solution operators associated to non-homogeneous equations are used to make transition to the theory of nonlinear PDEs. Organized on three parts, this material is suitable for three one-semester courses, a beginning one in the frame of classical analysis, a more advanced course in modern theory and a master course in semi-linear equations.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Ordinary Differential Equations by Michael D. GreenbergFeatures a balance between theory, proofs, and examples and provides applications across diverse fields of study Ordinary Differential Equations presents a thorough discussion of first-order differential equations and progresses to equations of higher order. The book transitions smoothly from first-order to higher-order equations, allowing readers to develop a complete understanding of the related theory. Featuring diverse and interesting applications from engineering, bioengineering, ecology, and biology, the book anticipates potential difficulties in understanding the various solution steps and provides all the necessary details. Topical coverage includes: First-Order Differential Equations Higher-Order Linear Equations Applications of Higher-Order Linear Equations Systems of Linear Differential Equations Laplace Transform Series Solutions Systems of Nonlinear Differential Equations In addition to plentiful exercises and examples throughout, each chapter concludes with a summary that outlines key concepts and techniques. The book's design allows readers to interact with the content, while hints, cautions, and emphasis are uniquely featured in the margins to further help and engage readers. Written in an accessible style that includes all needed details and steps, Ordinary Differential Equations is an excellent book for courses on the topic at the upper-undergraduate level. The book also serves as a valuable resource for professionals in the fields of engineering, physics, and mathematics who utilize differential equations in their everyday work. An Instructors Manual is available upon request. Email firstname.lastname@example.org for information. There is also a Solutions Manual available. The ISBN is 9781118398999.